Reviews: xTab
Item logo image for xTab

xTab

xtab.app
Featured
3.8(

113 ratings

)

3.8 out of 5

113 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Dawid BieniekMay 5, 2024

Closed all my tabs before I could set that it should only prevent new ones from opening. If I could give zero starts I would.

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Replier's profile picture

Craig CDeveloperMay 6, 2024

Hi Dawid, I am sorry to hear that. There is a note in the extension overview about this behavior, but unfortunately it is still not as obvious at it could be: > Note that after the extension is installed, if you do not change the default settings, it will close any tabs you have open beyond a 20 tab limit. For example, if you have 50 tabs open when the extension is installed, the next tab you open will remove 30 tabs. You can avoid this behavior by changing the default settings as soon as it is installed. The alternative behavior is that I can ignore any of the tabs already open when the extension is installed, but the problem with that is then people think the extension is not working PERIOD. If you have any idea on how I could improve this flow to either make it more clear or handle the behavior when the extension is first installed, I would be happy to try to improve it. Thank you, Craig

Review's profile picture

Jeff -family of- StapletonMay 2, 2024

Until the last couple of days, I would say this is a 4-star extension. I've used this for years and used it with Brave for a couple of years, but all of a sudden in the last couple of days, it stopped working. What happens now, is when you try to open a tab that puts you over your limit, the tab is open in a new browser window instead of being blocked. So, it seems like the v2.0.1 release introduced a bug.

Replier's profile picture

Craig CDeveloperMay 6, 2024

Hi Jeff, I am really sorry to hear about that. I would love to get this resolved and sorted out, but I am unable to reproduce the issue. Can I ask what settings you are using? Are you able to consistently reproduce the issue? Have you tried disabling and re-enabling the extension? As part of the new update, I had to migrate the settings from a background page to the new service worker flow that is part of Google’s manifest v3 extension format which is required for extensions to continue working starting next month. This process is very annoying and clunky, and I THOUGHT I got it right, but it is certainly possible I made a mistake in the migration process. Can you try disabling and re-enabling the extension or going into the settings and selecting them again and see if that helps? I didn’t intentionally change anything or change any actual functionality, but it is also possible that Google changed something with how their APIs work with manifest v3 extensions vs. v2. If I keep it as v2, the extension will be removed entirely starting next month. Thank you, Craig

Review's profile picture

PratikMay 2, 2024

Not working on my Opera Browser, It was working Before.

Replier's profile picture

Craig CDeveloperMay 6, 2024

Hi Pratik, Could you explain to me in what way it is not working? Thanks, Craig

Review's profile picture

Daniel OliveiraSep 13, 2023

Your extension has a bug. If you close your browser in unconventional ways, such as using the task manager, and you have more than one window open, when you reopen your browser later, probably all other windows are going to be closed except one. If your computer turns off for any reason and you restart it, Chrome will show you a message saying that you didn't close the browser correctly. When you click on the 'restore' button, the same thing that happens when you close your browser with the t... Show more

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

BrianMay 16, 2023

works ok until you lose all your tabs

3 out of 6 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

VishwDec 18, 2022

A great extension! has really helped boosting my productivity, but a feature that needs to be added, one can just open a new window and have more tabs open that there should be as of extension - it does block all of those opened in the same window but all it takes is opening a new window to bypass it, overall really helpful though, thanks!

Review's profile picture

Dat Nguyen BaJul 19, 2022

hey really nice i love it

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Cress CaribouJan 18, 2022

okay so like it didn't actually work, I have a little problem with having too many tabs open and I have a counter for it (currently at 434 tabs in this browser, but I also have a school browser and I'm still clearing stuff out of my old browser). At one point I got down to around 300 and set my limit to 350, but then realized that xtab did nothing.

7 out of 8 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

TsunazozJan 10, 2022

So simple, yet so effective.

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

AlexanderDec 1, 2021

When I tried to move and merge several tabs from another window - this extension first moved them, but then closed them all ! I've lost my data !!! Very crooked app! Flaw!

Google apps