Reviews: WCAG Color contrast checker
Item logo image for WCAG Color contrast checker

WCAG Color contrast checker

Featured
4.2(

23 ratings

)

4.2 out of 5

23 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Sam RevierMar 21, 2024

Love it! Would be great if you could add support for APCA and Oklch colors as well.

Review's profile picture

Bruno TonelMar 18, 2024

Stopped to work with local PDFs in last update. Please, consider to fix with a new update. Best regards.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Jorge RumorosoDeveloperMar 19, 2024

Hi Bruno, to be honest, I never had it open when opening in the browser a PDF, so I never thought of how it would behave. I just checked the problem and I identified the reason why it is happening. I will fix it and try to release an update with the fix this week. Btw, and just to clarify. I can imagine you already know it, but it could happen that someone that reads this could think that the extension can check the contrast of the content of a PDF. The reality is that it only checks HTML, so the content of the PDF is not accessed. The problem reported is that if when opening the extension panel while vieweing a PDF in the browser, the document dissapears from the view. This didn't happen before (the PDF was still visible), so I will work in the fix. Bruno, thank you again for reporting the problem. I hope it does not annoy to much during these days until I fix it. Sorry for the inconveniences.

Review's profile picture

Joe GardinerFeb 15, 2024

Great extension for easily finding colour contrast accessibility issues - especially with the auto-update feature. Unfortunately the extension overlays on the page and doesn't appear to update the viewport, so there are parts of the page that are hidden from view that are being analysed that I can't see - it would be good if the extension either updated the viewport so that all items on the page are always visible (similar to how DevTools works) or if when you clicked on an item, it would sh... Show more

Replier's profile picture

Jorge RumorosoDeveloperFeb 23, 2024

Hi Joe, thank you very much for your comment and feedback. I am working in an improvement related with the behavior covering elements in the view. Basically, this usually happens with elements that have fixed position in the page, and what it will do is to identify them and adjust their position according to the dimension of the panel. Regarding the option to have it integrated in the browser so the extension does not need to deal with the viewport, I am reviewing if it would be possible to have it in the Chrome sidepanel. In theory I think it will be, but I need to check how to keep compatibility with other browsers (now the same code works in a standard way to all browsers engines). I'll work on it. Regarding the hidden elements, I will also introduce the option to exclude them from the analysis. My concern is that there are many ways to hide visually elements in the pages, and I have to find a reliable way to identify them. Again, thank you very much for your comment.

Review's profile picture

Romário LimaJan 23, 2024

Amazing extension! But it lacks support for CSS variables.

Replier's profile picture

Jorge RumorosoDeveloperJan 23, 2024

Hi, thank you for your comment. To be honest, I didn't think of it until now and I am not sure what the extension could do with the CSS variables, but for sure it is worth to take a look. I would like to understand a bit more about what is missing, so what did you mean? The extension gets the colors from the style that is rendered, so not sure how the CSS variables relate or impact there.

Review's profile picture

Sam PrinceJul 7, 2023

some times it's not picking all colors & automatically some coors are getting grouped.

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Shura ChaikinaJul 29, 2022

Cool!

Review's profile picture

S LTJun 4, 2022

It would be nice to be able to select which side of the page the panel appears on (right side as well as the left side) because some, in fact most sites have left side navigation panels.

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Jorge RumorosoDeveloperJun 26, 2022

Hi, thank you for that feedback. In fact, I just added the feature to switch it between the left and right sides. I would like to try to even improve it more, so we'll see in the future. ;)

Review's profile picture

Adrienn TollasJun 3, 2021

Really useful tool when testing for accessibility, but i wish one could change the position of the panel to the right side. do you think this update could happen soon?

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Jorge RumorosoDeveloperJun 4, 2021

I have it in mind and I would like to work on in (and have it) soon. The way in which the panel is shown/hidden follows the same pattern than other extension that I have and that already implements that behavior, so I hope it will be easy to port. And than you for your comment ;)

Review's profile picture

Luis Campillo MatiasMar 30, 2021

This plugin is very good, thank you very much for your work ! Your plugin help me everytime :)

Review's profile picture

Andre G.Jan 25, 2021

I saw a score for my website. What I did not see is which elements are making my score bad so I can improve them. All I know at this point is that it is a span element. There are over 400 of them on that page. Please tell us which one it is.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Jorge RumorosoDeveloperFeb 20, 2021

When clicking in the results, in the row with the data for an specific value, the page should scroll to and highlight the elements that are identified with a potential error. It could happen that the highlighting is not enough or that is override by styles in the page. I think there is room for improvement there, so I will see how I could generate a better way to identify in the page the elements that have potential errors. Keep in mind that the errors shown could be also in elements that are identified as hidden, so they could be potentially hidden (like being part of a submenu, or things like that). Thank you for your comment because it raised one topic that maybe I didn´t think of too much.

Google apps