Reviews: Udemy Time Remaining

4.7 out of 5

13 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Ali QehremanovMay 4, 2024

Normally it shows the remaining time after all the previous lectures have been completed. But I study the lectures randomly not sequentially. So I want it to calculate based on checkboxed lectures not the previous checkboxed lectures. Can you add a feature that shows the remanining time after subtracting the all checkboxed lectures from the total lectures time? English is my second language. So I apologize for any mistakes.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Diego IADeveloperMay 4, 2024

Hi Ali, thank you very much for your feedback. I've implemented a new mode "focus on current lecture only" in version 2.0.6, that only displays the remaining time in the currently active lecture and takes into account all the completed items, either above or below the current lecture, effectively displaying the remaining time in the course. I hope it helps.

Review's profile picture

Dolapo AraoyeMay 2, 2024

Great feature

Replier's profile picture

Diego IADeveloperMay 3, 2024

Thank you very much Dolapo!

Review's profile picture

Unknown HeartlessApr 4, 2024

Love the new functionality, thank you for adding the progress tracking!

Replier's profile picture

Diego IADeveloperApr 5, 2024

Thanks! That one took a while, but it seems it was worth it! :)

Review's profile picture

Omar Ayman BakrMar 13, 2024

love it already , thank you

Replier's profile picture

Diego IADeveloperMar 15, 2024

Thank you very much Omar! I'm glad to hear it's helping you :)

Review's profile picture

Ishan NaikJan 31, 2024

Your Udemy extension is a game-changer! It's made my experience so much better. I have a tiny feature request and noticed a minor issue that could improve its functionality even more. Feature Request: When skipping sections, calculating the remaining time becomes a bit challenging. It would be immensely helpful if the extension could provide an accurate estimate of the total time left and the time remaining for each section. Maybe you could show the total time left at the top of the page, t... Show more

Replier's profile picture

Diego IADeveloperFeb 3, 2024

UPDATE: I've included the ability to track the user progress. I've also implemented a new mode "focus on current lecture only" in version 2.0.6, that only displays the remaining time in the currently active lecture and takes into account all the completed items, either above or below the current lecture, effectively displaying the remaining time in the course. I hope it helps. OLD POST: Thank you Ishan, I appreciate your kind words! Currently the extension behaves more like a static map of how much you'd have left after every specific point once you reach it, as you say, with the assumption that the course is completed in a linear fashion after that point. It doesn't take into consideration the user's progress, since it doesn't access to Udemy's public API (if there's one), it only uses the information available on screen, so it would probably be very challenging to implement what you suggest. But rest assured that I'll give it some though to see if it could be achieved. Have a fantastic day!

Review's profile picture

William ScottDec 13, 2023

Please add support for business accounts. This extension only checks for https://udemy.com/* but I view it on https://my-university.udemy.com/, so the extension breaks

Replier's profile picture

Diego IADeveloperDec 13, 2023

Dear William, unfortunately I only have access to the standard Udemy experience. I don't know if the business version of Udemy is identical at a code level to guarantee that the extension will work there and I wouldn't like to upload something that I can't test first. My understanding is that Udemy for business is slightly different to the standard one. If you could provide me with access to my-university.udemy.com, then I'll be happy to add support for it :). In the meantime I'd appreciate if you could review the exntension's functionality in the supported environment. Thank you in advance

Review's profile picture

Shanary StewartDec 8, 2023

Really amazing extension only missing two things (4 stars for now): 1. Do not include completed courses in time calculation. Some of my courses have archived outdated lessons that I have prematurely marked complete since it's redundant. 2. Allow us to set the expected playback speed and use for the remaining time. I use an external extension (Video Speed Controller) so doing it automatically wouldn't work (probably).

Replier's profile picture

Diego IADeveloperDec 13, 2023

UPDATE: I've included the ability to track the user progress. Hope it helps OLD POST: Thank you for your review Shanary, I'll consider adding more advanced functionality in the future. Currently as you know it only operates on the reported video duration as indicated by udemy, but I'll see if I can allocate some time for bespoke computations.

Review's profile picture

Jonathan DurrantNov 23, 2023

Great, very useful. However, I have noticed today (24 April 2024) that this doesn't work on some courses... approximately half of my courses don't show time remaining whilst the other half do... needing an update ?

Replier's profile picture

Diego IADeveloperDec 13, 2023

Thank you Jonathan, I appreciate it!

Review's profile picture

Leonardo LuizOct 1, 2023

Good app, would like to suggest something: When the course content is closed X on the top right corner and reopened, it doesnt load the time anymore until a page refresh.

Replier's profile picture

Diego IADeveloperOct 14, 2023

Thank you very much Leonardo, and thank you for noticing! This should be supported on the new version 1.0.2 once it gets approved!

Review's profile picture

CanMay 28, 2023

amazing

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Diego IADeveloperMay 29, 2023

Thank you @Can, I'm glad to hear that it's helping

Google apps