Reviews: Turn Off the Lights
Item logo image for Turn Off the Lights

Turn Off the Lights

www.turnoffthelights.com
Featured
4.6(

33.5K ratings

)
ExtensionAccessibility2,000,000 users

4.6 out of 5

33.5K ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Ridwan AjaMay 9, 2024

my youtube is now silky smooth 30 fps. my laptop does not support 60 fps, too much stuttering.

12 out of 13 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Stefan Van DammeDeveloperMay 15, 2024

Hi Ridwan Aja, Thank you for your 5 star rating! And for using the FREE and Open-Source Turn Off the Lights Chrome extension. If you have any further questions, do not hesitate to contact us at https://www.turnoffthelights.com/support We are happy to help you. Thanks,

Review's profile picture

Eks MannApr 23, 2024

! There's Nothing LIKE iT Babe ! LOVE !

13 out of 16 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Stefan Van DammeDeveloperApr 24, 2024

Hi Eks Mann, Thank you for your 5 star rating! And for using the FREE and Open-Source Turn Off the Lights Chrome extension. If you have any further questions, do not hesitate to contact us at https://www.turnoffthelights.com/support We are happy to help you. Thanks,

Review's profile picture

Roy NwaisserApr 23, 2024

Where do I start. It causes problems on a lot of websites. The icon doesn't appear in YT so that you can adjust the settings. And if you try to go to their website, you can't do anything if you have ad blockers. Had no benefit at all for me.

6 out of 15 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Stefan Van DammeDeveloperApr 23, 2024

Hi Roy, Sorry you have had this bad experience. And that you rated for this 1 star. The Turn Off the Lights browser extension is only visible in the Chrome toolbar, and not on the YouTube website. Furthermore the icon is always visible in the toolbar, that for all websites. See this YouTube tutorial on how to show this icon in your toolbar: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=15Z1uGoKtpQ Please if you have any further questions, do not use this review as a support forum. You can contact us at https://www.turnoffthelights.com/support We are happy to help you. Thanks,

Review's profile picture

Reiley ClarkApr 18, 2024

Such a cool idea!!!! LOVE IT!

9 out of 12 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Stefan Van DammeDeveloperApr 22, 2024

Hi Reiley Clark, Thank you for your 5 star rating! And for using the FREE and Open-Source Turn Off the Lights Chrome extension. If you have any further questions, do not hesitate to contact us at https://www.turnoffthelights.com/support We are happy to help you. Thanks,

Review's profile picture

Дмитрий ЯшинApr 8, 2024

Nice!

11 out of 11 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Stefan Van DammeDeveloperApr 9, 2024

Hi Дмитрий Яшин, Thank you for your 5 star rating! And for using the FREE and Open-Source Turn Off the Lights Chrome extension. If you have any further questions, do not hesitate to contact us at https://www.turnoffthelights.com/support We are happy to help you. Thanks,

Review's profile picture

Crystal Gambill BossMar 26, 2024

i love this extension its awesome

12 out of 13 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Stefan Van DammeDeveloperApr 9, 2024

Hi Crystal Gambill Boss, Thank you for your 5 star rating! And for using the FREE and Open-Source Turn Off the Lights Chrome extension. If you have any further questions, do not hesitate to contact us at https://www.turnoffthelights.com/support We are happy to help you. Thanks,

Review's profile picture

Ankit KumarMar 19, 2024

Best

21 out of 23 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Stefan Van DammeDeveloperMar 22, 2024

Hi Ankit Kumar, Thank you for your 5 star rating! And for using the FREE and Open-Source Turn Off the Lights Chrome extension. If you have any further questions, do not hesitate to contact us at https://www.turnoffthelights.com/support We are happy to help you. Thanks,

Review's profile picture

Timileyin AkinrinadeMar 14, 2024

Works fine, but once activated you're unable to scroll on the webpage unless you deactivate it

7 out of 13 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Stefan Van DammeDeveloperMar 14, 2024

Hi Timileyin Akinrinade, Sorry you have had this bad experience. And that is why you rated 2 stars for you can not click through the dark layer. Fortunately, there is already a solution to maintain the dark layer until you click again on the gray lamp button. You can find a tutorial on this in the following YouTube video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bWYVktAvLeo Please if you have any further questions, do not use this review as a support forum. You can contact us at https://www.turnoffthelights.com/support We are happy to help you. Thanks,

Review's profile picture

Florian GottwladMar 9, 2024

The extension was recommended to me as a dark mode for GDrive. But what good is a dark mode if it covers the page and switches off as soon as you click on something. Quite useless.

5 out of 8 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Stefan Van DammeDeveloperMar 11, 2024

Hi Florian Gottwlad, Sorry you have had this bad experience and rate 1 star. if you are looking for the Night Mode feature, that is default disabled for new users. But you can enable it in the Turn Off the Lights Options page -> Night Mode. See this YouTube tutorial video (is also in that help page article). https://youtu.be/9Zqhez7FVNw If you read the Welcome Guide (which is the first tab that shows up when you install the Turn Off the Lights Chrome extension), this animated guide explains the basic features, including how and where to enable Night Mode. Please if you have any further questions, do not use this review as a support forum. You can contact us at https://www.turnoffthelights.com/support We are happy to help you. Thanks,

Review's profile picture

Toushif HaqueMar 4, 2024

Useless. When i click on the extension it just adds an overlay of translucent div. You can't read anything unless you adjust the brightness. On click the layer goes away. It doesnt even work on PDFs.

9 out of 17 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Stefan Van DammeDeveloperMar 7, 2024

Hi Toushif Haque, You rated 1 star. Sorry you have had this bad experience. Everything is customizable to your style. See in the Turn Off the Lights Options page -> Advanced Options tab. And see for "Mouse" topic and enable the radio button "Enable clicking hyperlinks when the screen is darkened". With this option enabled, you can keep the dark layer unless you click again on the gray lamp button. if you are looking for the Night Mode feature, that is default disabled for new users. But you can enable it in the Turn Off the Lights Options page -> Night Mode. See this YouTube tutorial video (is also in that help page article). https://youtu.be/9Zqhez7FVNw If you have any further questions, do not hesitate to contact us at https://www.turnoffthelights.com/support We are happy to help you. Thanks,

Google apps