Reviews: Translate Selected Text
Item logo image for Translate Selected Text

Translate Selected Text

Featured
3.8(

763 ratings

)
ExtensionEducation100,000 users

3.8 out of 5

763 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Lecko MioMar 27, 2024

This is nice and at least for me the nearest solution I was looking for. I was actually looking for a translation extension that automatically translates a selected text and replace-in-place in text editors of web pages. This is not working with this plugin unfortunately and so far no one seems to produced something like this. It would help if this plugin could add a hotkey

4 out of 4 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

cristian alexandru provincialulMar 2, 2024

exceptional!! :))

4 out of 4 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Laptev walrusFeb 8, 2024

Please add hotkey functionality

6 out of 6 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Ali BakhtafaridSep 28, 2023

Excellent!

4 out of 4 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Günther BoschAug 10, 2023

Hi, Translate and Paste in one step would be great. Or at least Translate and Copy to Clipboard. Would make it easier to translate many text snippets when they are separated by images, table cells, ...

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

JakobJul 5, 2023

One has to wade through such garbage to occasionally chance upon something worth while, and this is the best application of its kind.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Tj GonzSep 30, 2021

Just need the translation on the page, no popup or tab. Its possible in Edge, Im sure it can be done!

2 out of 6 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Niraj SanghviSep 8, 2021

Thank you for making this privacy-focused extension versus the other translate extensions that are available. It works great and I wish more of the negative reviewers here understood that compromises were made deliberately to achieve the goal of requiring the minimum amount of permissions, which I really appreciate!

2 out of 5 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Adrià Vilanova MartínezDeveloperSep 8, 2021

You are very kind Niraj, thanks for your comments :) In a world where we want to do everything as quickly and efficiently as possible, there is still a group of us who are privacy-conscientious. That gave me an idea: I'll try to look for alternative services to Google Translate to allow people to select which service they would like to be redirected to when using the extension: https://iavm.xyz/b/translateselectedtext/2 If you have some free time, I'd really appreciate it if you translated the extension to your native language: https://crowdin.com/project/translateselectedtext. You are free to contribute as much or as little as you want! :) Again, thanks, you really made my day with your comment! :))

Review's profile picture

Petter NermanJul 28, 2021

Desperately needs a "translate text" option to be used in conjunction with the extension shortcuts at chrome://extensions/shortcuts, because as it stands now, you're forced to right click and scroll down to the translate option via the pop-up menu every time you want to translate something which simply isn't practical at all. With the addition I am suggesting you'd be able to translate at the press of a button. Not sure why this hasn't been added as it's an obvious improvement.

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Replier's profile picture

Adrià Vilanova MartínezDeveloperJul 28, 2021

Hi Petter! Thanks for your review! There's an open issue about this, but I completely forgot to check whether this is possible without requesting additional permissions: https://github.com/avm99963/translateselectedtext/issues/10. The goal of the extension is to request the smallest set of privacy-invasive permissions possible, so if this change aligns with this goal, I'll of course make it, since I also think it would be a great addition! I'll update the issue when I check whether this is possible. Again: thanks!

Review's profile picture

Muhammad TaqawiJul 11, 2021

Nice and simple extension

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Adrià Vilanova MartínezDeveloperJul 15, 2021

Thanks Muhammad! :)

Google apps