Reviews: TextEditAid

4.3 out of 5

39 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Frank UtneJan 27, 2017

This extension does not work on Youtube. The only reason I installed this is because Youtube textarea goes back to previous page when I am just trying to select a word with alt-left arrow that works on every site but Youtube. Google developers are really incompetent. I mean why would they even think of mapping this common key combination to Back?

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

iLemmingDec 20, 2014

Aaah... please fix it for gmail, inbox and twitter, and many other web apps!

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Review's profile picture

Marco KellershoffJul 1, 2014

This is simply amazing!

Review's profile picture

Fergus CameronApr 25, 2014

Lovely, I can now have chrome switch out to gvim in cygwin (and access text processors therein).

Review's profile picture

José Leal Domingues NetoOct 9, 2013

Cool, but it doesn't recognize gmail. Would be cool if you could take a look..

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Moritz BunkusMar 29, 2013

I love this, have been using for quite some time. With gmail's newest update, however, TextAid doesn't recognize the mail form edit field as a edit field anymore. Any chance you could take a look at it?

8 out of 8 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Ethan MNov 13, 2012

Merely had to set $REQUIRE_AUTH to 0, and correct the $EDITOR_CMD for the edit-server perl script process to get things working!

Review's profile picture

Josh BergasseOct 23, 2012

Awesome, ran the python server listed in the options page, and tweaked it to launch gVim instead of emacs, once I added gVim's directory to Windows' PATH and then changed the port to match the server and it works! The options page could use some CSS though!

Review's profile picture

A Chrome Web Store userFeb 29, 2012

Can't get it to work. Doesn't seem to be sending anything to the edit-server. Edit server is running because I can browse to edit-server which returns: "Server is up and running. To use it, issue a POST request with the file to edit as the content body." Have altered edit-server.pl for mvim and no authentication. When running in Terminal with --verbose, I see some output when contacting it via web browser but no output when trying to invoke TextAid in a text area. Have tried setting ... Show more

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Google apps