Reviews: Text Mode
Item logo image for Text Mode

Text Mode

omarrr.com
4.1(

274 ratings

)

4.1 out of 5

274 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

BaSsGaZMay 25, 2024

Works but would have loved if the images are blocked, instead of getting hidden AFTER they appear for a second.

Review's profile picture

TEFLMay 24, 2024

Its pretty good. It would be better if I can watch instagram reels without seeing peoples faces and whatsapp video calls without seeing peoples faces. Maybe see like silhouettes instead. Ik that sounds arbitary but it is a text ad on...

Review's profile picture

HdrxMay 20, 2024

It was perfect but since the last update (19 may 2024) I can't watch youtube videos when the extension is on.

Replier's profile picture

Omar RodriguezDeveloperMay 22, 2024

Thank you for your review and for pointing out this issue. The problem you mentioned arose due to my recent migration to Manifest V3, as required by Google. I've taken your feedback to heart and released version 0.6.1 to specifically address the YouTube video concern. Please update to the latest version and let me know if it improves your experience. I really appreciate your support and any further feedback you might have!

Review's profile picture

Felipe RivasFeb 17, 2024

While this extension tends to work well, it definitely isn't 100% and the worst part of it is that sometimes, at random points, a few images here and there will suddenly appear. For no real reason. Like if you're on a website, all images are grey boxes- cool, it works. But then the images (in black and white form though) may appear randomly after a while or if you click on another page or article or video on a website- then they may appear. So, the fact that it's like playing Russian roulette... Show more

Replier's profile picture

Omar RodriguezDeveloperMay 22, 2024

Thanks for sharing your concerns. I'm sorry to hear about the issues with images and videos. In the latest updates, I've improved image blocking and performance (v0.6.0) and added a setting to control video blocking in the options menu (v0.6.1). Please give these updates a try and let me know if they help. If you're still having problems, I'd love to get more details to fix them.

Review's profile picture

Jake KingFeb 6, 2024

Does not block all images. It's a mixed bag. You never know what you're going to get. Don't waste your time, seriously.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Omar RodriguezDeveloperMay 22, 2024

Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear about the inconsistencies with image blocking. If you're willing to give it another try, please update to the latest version and let me know if you see an improvement. Your specific feedback can help make further enhancements.

Review's profile picture

Mandra MandraFeb 5, 2024

The extension works so well with DuckDuckGo until I try Google that loads some images (formats). So please update and include some other formats. Thanks a lot!

Replier's profile picture

Omar RodriguezDeveloperMay 25, 2024

Thank you for your feedback and for noting the issue with different image formats on Google. I'm glad to hear the extension works well with DuckDuckGo! The latest update now blocks even more formats, including all Google Images results, SVG elements, figures, background images, and videos. Please update the extension and check out the improvements. Your input is very helpful!

Review's profile picture

wolfgang lawrenceJan 1, 2023

problem, extension causes chroma problem aka kills chroma in chrome browser for most of 2022. had to turn them off one at a time to pinpoint the violating extension. i'm logging this to help coders figure out why and fix in an update. changed the "Allow this extension to read and change all your data on websites you visit" setting from 'all sites' default to 'on click' to fix the problem, but now have to ask how i get your ext to do it's thing.

Replier's profile picture

Omar RodriguezDeveloperMay 25, 2024

Thanks for pointing out the chroma issue! I'm curious to learn more about what you experienced. The recent update to Manifest V3 involved significant changes that may help. Please try the latest version, and if the issue persists, adjusting the permission to 'on click' is a good approach. Let me know if you notice any improvements or can provide more details.

Review's profile picture

C. L.Oct 5, 2022

Thank you Omarrrr! My man! Now I don't have to figure out where the "x" button is on an annoying ad and am not distracted with those attention whoring ads. Plus, it is so easy to read text now! Amazing!

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Review's profile picture

Stacia Kissick JonesAug 23, 2022

Currently using Version 104.0.5112.102 (Official Build) (64-bit) and this did not work at all. Made photos black and white, but they were still there.

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

john doeApr 9, 2021

This is a joke right? according to dev tools, data transferred over network is higher when applying this extension or the difference is tiny, I tried it on several pages including Facebook and tested in incognito mode and repeated the test several times with each mode, for saving bandwidth this tool is waste of bandwidth.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Google apps