Reviews: Text Editor
Item logo image for Text Editor

Text Editor

texteditor.co
3.5(

1.4K ratings

)
90,000 users

3.5 out of 5

1.4K ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Terry CanaanMar 12, 2023

Not an app. A website. A website with a text editor that never loads.

4 out of 5 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Homuncula ArtMar 8, 2023

Every time I open a file from Google Drive, the Text Editor first opens the "Welcome to the Text Editor" document, and then starts opening my file. It's pretty time consuming. Wouldn't it be possible to view my file directly? Without that boring interscreen?

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

John CoonrodJan 27, 2022

Do we have to watch adds just to edit text? How sad.

4 out of 6 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Kenneth ThomasJan 9, 2022

No search and replace with regular expressions?!! Give me a break! DUD.

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Review's profile picture

Noam LSep 18, 2021

Failed with basic operation: opening a file and trying to serach a string that is "below" (i.e. need to scroll down to see it)

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Karl PearsonAug 13, 2021

This won't run on LInux. I don't know why, but it just stays on the introduction/instruction page and a couple of little icons spin and spin. I suspect those would show the tools necessary to open and edit files. Drat.

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Review's profile picture

Gary EglintonAug 5, 2021

I accepted Google's offer of texteditor.co to open the calls and sms.xml files saved in Drive. What a mistake! It does not work for this task, it requires permissions, and once installed, it looks like I will have to take it with me to my grave, because there appears to be no way to uninstall it. BEWARE!

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Ajjk ArtiMay 12, 2021

Too much of my screen is covered with white space and advertisement.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Rdg JrMar 26, 2021

Does not play nice with Virtual Desktops. I like this editor a lot, but it can only be open in one specific Virtual Desktop at a time. Trying to open the Text Editor while in a different Virtual Desktop opens up that other Virtual Desktop

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Review's profile picture

Unknown StrategyNov 8, 2020

Really nice. Works on editing files that are not usually supposed to be edited in drive such as .sh files (shell files Ubuntu) and .bat files (windows scripts, batch files). 👍

1 person found this review to be helpful
Google apps