Reviews: Tab Muter
Item logo image for Tab Muter

Tab Muter

tab.muter.computer
Featured
4.4(

164 ratings

)

4.4 out of 5

164 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

VitalsJun 6, 2024

can't live without it

Review's profile picture

Josiah WomackJun 4, 2024

I dunno ab all the negative reviews, but i've been using this extension for a while now and I haven't faced any issues or bugs. One thing I'd like to see tho is a shortcut to make it easier to mute tabs, but that's just me being lazy. otherwise 10/10 software.

Replier's profile picture

Ash HollandDeveloperJun 5, 2024

Glad it's working well for you! You can set a keyboard shortcut in Chrome's settings – navigate to chrome://extensions/shortcuts and scroll down til you find Tab Muter, then you can set a shortcut for "Activate the extension".

Review's profile picture

ylluminateMay 16, 2024

Works great in Chromium Ungoogled (`brew install eloston-chromium` via Homebrew on macOS). Thank you!

Review's profile picture

Dead KennedyMay 7, 2024

Started muting whole websites and now mutes tabs even when unselected and needs uninstalling. Chrome needs to just have a one click mute.

Replier's profile picture

Ash HollandDeveloperJun 5, 2024

This is likely caused by a Chrome bug, which I can't do much about. If you drop me an email at support@tab.muter.computer, I can try to help.

Review's profile picture

Felix SchwedaMar 19, 2024

No longer works with newer versions. Only mutes whole websites and not single tabs.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Ash HollandDeveloperMar 20, 2024

Hi there – this is caused by a Chrome bug that's fixed in the most recent release. Please wait until you get Chrome version 123 (likely within the next week), then see if it starts working.

Review's profile picture

Eixie FrostMar 15, 2024

Perfect for Twitch. Sad we need an extension for this. Chrome needs to do better. Thanks for the perfect addon. I am having no issues so far.

5 out of 5 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Narc1zzzMar 7, 2024

is there any hotkey to mute/unmute? i just dont like always open extensions and clicking "Tab Muter"

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Ash HollandDeveloperMar 8, 2024

If you navigate to chrome://extensions/shortcuts, and scroll down til you find Tab Muter, you can set a keyboard shortcut for "Activate the extension", which will do what you want. (You could also click the little "Pin" icon next to the extension, which would stop you having to open the extensions menu every time!)

Review's profile picture

Albert MokMar 4, 2024

Stopped working properly since last Chrome update. When I mute a tab with a Twitch Stream, all Twitch streams tabs are muted.

9 out of 9 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Ash HollandDeveloperMar 4, 2024

Hi! This is likely caused by a Chrome bug – when you have too many tabs open, or if you press "Duplicate" on a tab, Chrome can get confused about which tab is producing audio, which I can't do much about. If you drop me an email at support@tab.muter.computer, I can provide more details. Edit: a fix for this bug is in progress, and should hopefully be available by the end of March.

Review's profile picture

Koua LeeMar 3, 2024

Great, downloaded it in less than a second and it used it the next. 10/10. Does what it's supposed to.

Review's profile picture

Zarak Singh SambyalMar 2, 2024

Amazing extension, even with the recent bug from google.! Hope it gets fixed but its still fully functional even with the recent bug which occurs only with group tabs and with more than 30 50 tabs open at once

1 person found this review to be helpful
Google apps