Reviews: SynQ for Spotify, YouTube, Amazon Music, more
Item logo image for SynQ for Spotify, YouTube, Amazon Music, more

SynQ for Spotify, YouTube, Amazon Music, more

synqapp.io
4.0(

130 ratings

)

4.0 out of 5

130 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Dan HolthMar 11, 2024

Adding other music services is neat, but giving permissions to "Read and change all your data on all websites" should be a non-starter for everyone. That is crazy for a simple music plugin. I read your reply to another user below, but its honestly not sufficient. Sorry too, because the previous implementation was great.

3 out of 4 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

MitchellDeveloperMar 11, 2024

Hey Dan, given yours and the other comment about this same issue below, I think what I might do is try to ask for permissions for a bunch of services we intend to support but do not yet have implemented (i.e. SoundCloud, YouTube (standard), SiriusFM, etc). That way we can still get the benefit of not disabling the extension every time we add support while also not asking you to give us such wide-ranging permissions. In the meantime, we have open-sourced SynQ, meaning you and anyone else can see the code that makes SynQ work and verify it does not do anything nefarious: https://github.com/SynQApp/Extension

Review's profile picture

Tom HaydenMar 11, 2024

Used to be great when YT Music only but since trying to work for other platforms it's totally unreliable and barely works.

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

MitchellDeveloperMar 11, 2024

Hey Tom, I'm sorry to hear it is not working for you. I had several other users test it out before pushing the update for SynQ, so I'm unsure what might not be working for you. Could you submit an issue to our GitHub detailing the steps to reproduce the issue? https://github.com/SynQApp/Extension/issues/new/choose

Review's profile picture

Joshua PearceMar 8, 2024

On my desktop I always hated the clunky YouTube music volume slider as I couldn't get it low enough. This has amazing volume control and the other pop out features are amazing. What a beautiful extension.

2 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Matt BallMar 4, 2024

Finally - exactly what I wanted. So fantastic -- thanks so very much!

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Syed NaqviMar 2, 2024

I adored it! Just a tiny hiccup I noticed—previously, it played nice with other extensions. But now, when I'm on the YouTube Music page and then I click on its sidebar icon, it seems to disable the camera or somehow shuts down the awesome screenshot recording extension's camera. The recording itself still carries on, mind you. I'm mentioning it here because with the previous iteration of the extension, known as YTM, this wasn't an issue. I could easily overlook this, given how much it has ass... Show more

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

MitchellDeveloperMar 4, 2024

Hey Syed, so glad you're enjoying it! And thank you for reporting this issue. I couldn't figure out what specific features of Awesome Screenshot were conflicting with SynQ, but it would be really helpful if you could file a bug report at our GitHub repo and specify the exact steps to reproduce the issue you're seeing Here is the link! https://github.com/SynQApp/Extension/issues/new/choose

Review's profile picture

Davorin PongracFeb 29, 2024

why does extension needs access to all the sites all of a sudden? also, when i set to allow only on youtube music it say that i must enable on all sites to work...a bit sus, no?

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

MitchellDeveloperFeb 29, 2024

UPDATE: SynQ is fully functional for YTM again. ---- NOTE: Borrowing this review as a way to communicate out a quick update (Chrome doesn't let me quickly publish changes to the store listing without their review). YouTube Music updated their website right after Chrome approved SynQ's release, and it broke the integration with YouTube Music. I have submitted a fix for this problem and it should be published as soon as they complete the review process. ---- Hey Davorin! Thanks for the question, I completely understand your concern. We just released an update that enables the extension to work on more than just YouTube Music (starting off with adding Apple Music and Amazon Music, with more to come). With that, we also enable cross-music service links, which is an exciting new feature to make it easier to share music with friends that don't have the same music service as you. Since we expect to continue adding more music services in the future, we wanted to just enable all websites now, because Chrome will otherwise disable the extension every single time we update with a new music service, and this is a frustrating experience for users. We take your privacy very seriously and do not collect any private information nor operate on any websites that are not necessary for SynQ to work. We will be open-sourcing the code soon which should help dispel any concerns around security and privacy, but happy to answer any other specific questions you have in the meantime! Edit: I see what you mean about when you enable access to only specific sites, the extension does not work. I'm going to see if I can get it to still work with limited permissions - thank you for pointing this out!

Review's profile picture

JJ H.Feb 26, 2024

Good extension. Only thing that it is missing is the add to playlist shortcuts on both the mini player and the keyboard. Edit 2: OK thanks for the info.

Replier's profile picture

MitchellDeveloperMar 1, 2024

Hey JJ, thanks for the suggestion about the playlist shortcuts. This would be a pretty tough feature to implement but I'm adding it to our backlog to consider for the future! Regarding thumbs up/down, we actually do still support thumbs up/down for YouTube Music still (it is not enabled for every service). The integration with YTM is broken as I wait for Google to review the update that fixes it, so that may be why it appears that the thumbs up/down is no longer supported.

Review's profile picture

Simon SaundersJan 7, 2024

Excellent stuff, very helpful. How does the Spotify link -> YTM work? Tried running Spotify web player but couldn't see any obvious way of sending link to YTM+ Making this work independently in picture-in-picture would be great.

Replier's profile picture

MitchellDeveloperJan 10, 2024

Hey there! So the Spotify to YTM feature works only for track links on Spotify, and only when you first open a Spotify link. The main use case is for when someone sends you a specific track to listen to and you click the link. YTM+ should generate a popup on the top right of your screen when you open that link, and you can select whether to listen to it on YTM. By the way, keep an eye out for our upcoming release which extends support for this feature to more than just Spotify! We'll also be releasing a picture-in-picture mode in the coming release :)

Review's profile picture

Belay MulatDec 3, 2023

It would be great to have this on a sidebar.

6 out of 6 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

MitchellDeveloperMar 10, 2024

Hey Belay! Just an FYI, the mini player now works in always-on-top mode, so hopefully this meets your needs, if in a bit of a different way :)

Review's profile picture

Sheikh Siddique Ahmed AliOct 16, 2023

This extension should be all in one supporting all of the features that we usually see direct on another tab sponsoring this extension, that sponsoring link open in new tab with all of stuff out there that should be in the extension as a mini player. I hope that you got my mind map......

1 out of 4 found this helpful
Google apps