Reviews: Speak! - Speech-To-Text Smart Dictation
Item logo image for Speak! - Speech-To-Text Smart Dictation

Speak! - Speech-To-Text Smart Dictation

kredor.com
3.8(

20 ratings

)

3.8 out of 5

20 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

kicnbacMay 12, 2024

Not working Edge

Replier's profile picture

Orlin TodorovDeveloperMay 15, 2024

The extension works with the Edge browser on Windows and on Intel Macs, but Edge on ARM Macs currently lacks the necessary functionality.

Review's profile picture

Frank HayesApr 10, 2024

I love how accurate it is however, as I was talking the words would not stay in the text field I was writing in. Is there a fix for this?

Replier's profile picture

Orlin TodorovDeveloperApr 11, 2024

Please reach out to us at support@kredor.com with the url of site on which you are encountering the problem and, if possible, the steps to reproduce. We will investigate. It shouldn't happen.

Review's profile picture

Deeper With DiegoApr 6, 2024

Doesn't work on Vivaldi.

Replier's profile picture

Orlin TodorovDeveloperApr 10, 2024

Yes, the extension only works with Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge. Other browsers unfortunately lack the necessary functionality.

Review's profile picture

g ninjaMar 2, 2024

i'm pretty scared i saw "OM SO (OmSo73)" say that this only works for a limited time if that's the case then this is an immediate one star. I'll keep you updated.

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Review's profile picture

OM SO (OmSo73)Feb 25, 2024

The app was working great, but it doesn't work anymore. I uninstalled it and reinstalled it, but no luck. I updated Chrome, no luck. I uninstalled Chrome and downloaded Chrome again, but still no luck. I had to find another app to make dictation work. Apparently, this extension works for a limited time.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Orlin TodorovDeveloperApr 7, 2024

It may be that you have accidentally blocked microphone access. You can check the microphone permissions in the browser Settings -> Privacy and Security -> Site Settings -> Microphone. You can also contact us at support@kredor.com. We will do our best to resolve the issue.

Review's profile picture

Bojan SavićJan 26, 2024

I love this plugin, it's a productivity game-changer. Compared to ChromeOS' built-in dictation, this service is far better at structuring sentences and more flexible when it comes to adjustments. It also offers a more natural user experience, the double-click-to-activate is great. A few drawbacks: could be better at handling pauses in speech and not always making them a period, same goes for questions. Would also prefer a shorter timeout option or a turn-off word. There are a few apps it does... Show more

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Orlin TodorovDeveloperFeb 21, 2024

Thank you for your feedback. Very much appreciated! We will be working on improving the pause handling. Others have asked for it too. You can adjust the inactivity timeout from the Options page - right-click on the Speak button in the browser toolbar and select 'Options' from the dropdown menu. By default the timeout is 20 min. As for the turn-off word - there is one actually - "Switch off" - it turns off the microphone and stops dictation. I've noticed it is not listed in the Help page though. We fix that with the next update. UPDATE (Apr 1st, 2024): We have made significant improvements in pause handling. The extension is now better at determining if an utterance is an incomplete sentence as well as whether it should be joined with the previous one to form a complete sentence. We estimate about 50% reduction of unintended full-stops on average. Still more to do.

Review's profile picture

Jamie LennoxDec 18, 2023

This is actually very cool but would like the option to turn off auto correction and auto punctuation. Also the undo only works if you say it immediately, but it actually works as I would expect on your website (you can pause and then say undo). Undo replacement is also not working. Edit: Option to turn off auto punctuation is there now but it doesn't work - still inputs commas and periods. Undo still isn't working. Developer is unresponsive unfortunately

Replier's profile picture

Orlin TodorovDeveloperFeb 21, 2024

Hello Jamie. I hope to fix those issue by next week.

Review's profile picture

CN MGNov 23, 2023

It's good, but doesn't allow swearing... estrange decision. Also, I don't know how to turn auto punctuation off. It's a pain

Review's profile picture

Leigh Grace IngerslewNov 8, 2023

It's a really cool idea. With more refinement and user practice, this could be great. However, I could not get it to cooperate. It made unintended corrections and misunderstood my corrections frequently enough that using it over another software doesn't seem worth it yet. Most importantly, I can't get it to work on Google Docs.

Replier's profile picture

Orlin TodorovDeveloperNov 9, 2023

Thank you for the kind words. The description of the extension has been adjusted based on your feedback and submitted it to Google for publishing along with another fix. It does indeed take some practice to learn what you can and cannot do with auto-editing and we need to make better tutorials. Google Docs and Microsoft Word, alas, don't use regular text fields for input. Whatsapp, Telegram, Facebook, Gmail, UpWork, forums, etc - about 95% of sites should work fine though. It is a lot of fun to use it in WhatsApp Web for instance. It makes the conversation go much faster and deeper. If you would like some assistance, don't hesitate to contact us. It would help us too, to learn more about your needs.

Review's profile picture

A Chrome Web Store userAug 27, 2023

This extension works perfectly, I highly recommend it. You can dictate the text slowly. The application doesn't shut down. It waits for you to continue.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Google apps