Reviews: Social visual alt text
Item logo image for Social visual alt text

Social visual alt text

Featured
5.0(

9 ratings

)

5 out of 5

9 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Uni versumJun 7, 2023

Thanks for making it working with Mastodon - made my day as visually impaired user without a screenreader. The possibility to adjust font size or space between lines would make it even better especially with longer alt texts for me.

Review's profile picture

GK TechiesMar 19, 2022

It also works on LinkedIn! Thank you! I often recommend this extension.

Review's profile picture

Meryl K EvansJun 22, 2021

I've tried different plugins to view ALT text on social media and this one does it the cleanest. It simply puts a bar at the bottom of the post. If there's no alt text, it's blank and red (appropriately). If there's alt text, it's blue and contains the actual alt text. Another plugin displays the alt text in the middle of the image. This one doesn't.

Review's profile picture

Michael NolanJun 22, 2021

Been using this extension for a few days but it's something I've wanted for a while and it's eye opening to see what alt text people are using on social media platforms. Particularly useful for those involved in posting on behalf of organisations but handy for everyone to use!

Review's profile picture

Jake DolanJun 22, 2021

After only a short period of using Social visual alt text, it is already a tool that I greatly miss when it isn't enabled. I find seeing the quality and consistency of alt text from brands to thought leaders incredibly useful. It helps me write better alt text and hold myself accountable. Most importantly this extension exposes have how common it is for alt text to be missing or non-descriptive which drives home how necessary it is for us all to be better advocates for accessibility.

Review's profile picture

Erin NorrisJun 22, 2021

Easy to use and a quick tool to utilize and improve/rethink your alt text descriptions or lack there of. When alt text is present, it appears in a blue box (maroon if AI/generated) at the bottom of social images.

Review's profile picture

Theresa C.Jun 22, 2021

The Social visual alt text is the perfect addition to anyone wanting to up their accessibility game on social. Knowing what images include alt text lets me know how best to reshare that post while keeping my accounts accessible. PLUS, it's great insight into how different social media managers are using alt text. I'm learning a lot just by scrolling through my feed.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Krystal ToschJun 22, 2021

Very insightful (and sometimes comical!) to read the alt text on images on social media without utilizing a screenreader to learn how folks describe images! The extension will help raise the bar for how alt text is utilized across social platforms.

Google apps