Reviews: Snowflake
Item logo image for Snowflake

Snowflake

Featured
4.8(

134 ratings

)

4.8 out of 5

134 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Bob BlaylockNov 13, 2023

I have finally identified this extension as the cause of some serious performance issues that my computer was having.  Massive, excessing hard drive activity, dragging everything else down.   The intent is good, but not worth the adverse effect on my computer's performance.

5 out of 16 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

UserNov 6, 2023

not working in russia.

3 out of 13 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Orpheus LummisOct 21, 2023

Running it to contribute to Tor as public good.

18 out of 18 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Milez AwxyAug 23, 2023

For those confused, this extension does not enable tor on your browser, it's just making your network as a proxy/relay to help others who are using snowflake protocol hide their IP.

16 out of 16 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Josh SteinerMay 12, 2023

works well, causes no side effects. Love to see the little icon showing off how many are connecting through my box, very satisfying

5 out of 5 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

KaelanApr 1, 2023

Helps fight censorship and I barely notice that it is running. But it would be useful if it showed how much data it has used. Also if you don't want to use the extension you can just go to the embed on Tor's website. (snowflake.torproject.org/embed.html) Overall I give it 5 onions out of 21 ogres.

5 out of 5 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Tyler MageeMar 12, 2023

For 🇮🇷

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Review's profile picture

ArchieFeb 7, 2023

I like to think I'm helping stop internet censorship. And I may be, but I may also just be helping some kid bypass his school firewall. Either way, I support that cause.

20 out of 20 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Clayton DeckerFeb 2, 2023

This is one of the simplest things you can do to help fight censorship and uphold the right to privacy. Some regimes are more oppressive than others, but all will have their authoritarian moment. Thus, we must build resilient systems. This extension is a key component to that resilience. You can just install Snowflake and forget it. Snowflake uses a share of your unused bandwidth to create an encrypted onramp for others to access the TOR network without detection. TOR enables journalists, a... Show more

8 out of 8 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

El ChykonJan 24, 2023

For the Internet without censorship! Are there any plans to develop a TOR browser extension? Not all use cases for TOR require the anonymity provided by the TOR Browser. Often, it is much more convenient and easier to use a regular browser.

1 out of 3 found this helpful
Google apps