Reviews: Screen Reader
Item logo image for Screen Reader

Screen Reader

chrome.google.com
2.5(

1.1K ratings

)

2.5 out of 5

1.1K ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Bartosz LeperMay 24, 2024

Utter garbage. You try to deactivate it, it says "ChromeVox is now inactive", and then happily continues to run. Then you try to deactivate it temporarily from the extensions page, only to notice that it wrecked the extension page layout somehow, and you're unable to do it! Had to remove it completely. Is this really supposed to be the official Google's screen reader? Beyond disappointing.

Review's profile picture

MJ StudentMay 21, 2024

should be standard on google chrome. instead i folllowed all these steps and it dont even work that great

Review's profile picture

Emmanuel EjimMay 9, 2024

Useful tool, lighter and easier to use than the native IOS "voiceover" tool but it's lacking a simple toggle feature on the UI and keyboard hotkeys. A way around this is to open the "Extensions Menu" > "Manage Extensions" > search "Screen reader". On the bottom right there is a toggle icon to disable/enable the extension but works perfectly as an On/Off switch. - When the tab is already open it takes less than 2 secs enable/disable the extension. So much faster than installing/uninstalling ... Show more

2 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Chukwuemeka NwabuzorApr 24, 2024

Very good but how do I disable / enable the screen reader? I have to install when I need and uninstall it after testing with it. It would be nice to keep it without having to uninstall it.

33 out of 35 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Lili JeanApr 21, 2024

As soon at is is downloaded, the extension just reads everything even if I try to adjust the settings. It also messes up everything on my screen. My home page doesn't show up, the search bar is not appearing, I can't open websites, everything is scrambled even after repowering my computer. As soon as I deleted it, everything came back to normal. There is something very wrong with that extension. I don't recommend it at all.

13 out of 13 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

SamApr 19, 2024

Oh dear, Google. This tool completely breaks web-components.

6 out of 8 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Xbml XyfaceApr 18, 2024

If it is reading too much, you can disable the option called Enable verbose descriptions.

Review's profile picture

Jonas ImperialApr 17, 2024

How to enable/disable?

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Sophus CorryApr 9, 2024

It is what it says on the box, most reviews are misunderstanding the purpose.

7 out of 13 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

MyEaglesEyesApr 8, 2024

This extension drove me half insane within a couple minutes of use. impossible to mute or turn off without disabling completely removing it EVEN when I found their own user guide for what shortcuts are SUPPOSED to work

8 out of 11 found this helpful
Google apps