Reviews: Research Notes
Item logo image for Research Notes

Research Notes

onlineresearchnotes.com
4.3(

20 ratings

)
ExtensionTools3,000 users

4.3 out of 5

20 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Jared R (jared gmail)Jun 5, 2024

The most useful extension I have ever used.

Review's profile picture

MSB ARMar 17, 2024

After discovering Research Notes (RN) several months ago, I now use it whenever I open a web browser. It is the best extension for storing notes about individual web pages on a computer (not someone's server!) and comparing them later within topics, further refined by tags. • At first, I used RN just to store notes for future references when visiting a web page of interest to me. • Then, I found it was very helpful to see web pages (actually, their clickable URLs) about offerings on a produc... Show more

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Robin Griggs WoodJul 18, 2023

WARNING: This extension just went crazy, creating close to 30 new _empty_ folders in my bookmarks. Developer, please update your app!

0 out of 4 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Martin TDeveloperJul 20, 2023

Research Notes creates on the top level just one bookmark folder (named "Research Notes" by default, but user can rename it). Under this folder Research Notes creates one bookmarks subfolder per each topic that user defines in RN. It is not conceivable there could be 30 empty folders either at top level or beneath it (there can't be empty topics in RN). If you really wish to look into what happened here, pleaser write under Support tab or to e-mail feedback@onlineresearchnotes.com, what exactly happened - where did the empty bookmark folders appear exactly and what seemed to trigger it. Otherwise I seriously doubt RN had anything to do with this and I do consider posting this under review as either uninformed or malicious.

Review's profile picture

King LionJul 6, 2023

Awesome!!!Thanks developer!!! That would be better if we can see the context for the highlight and can export notes to markdown files

Review's profile picture

Lindsey ParkerDec 19, 2022

This app is wonderful, and is hands down the best free extension I have ever stumbled across. I feel like it sounds like i'm being hyperbolic, but this app legitimately improved my quality of life, and has made my research-heavy workload far more productive. Is this app the reason I got a raise? Distinctly possible. Either way, I definitely gained office clout for recommending this add-on to my coworkers. Bravo, app developers. Bravo.

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Inigo MontoyaDec 3, 2022

best tagging functionality of all time

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Mahima DavanamOct 12, 2022

In my opinion, this is one very effective working extension, has really helped me organize my notes and links, serves the purpose right!

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Jared RApr 18, 2022

Amazing lightweight but super useful tool. I can't live without it now. 2024 EDIT: Three years later and still perfect. This is the most underrated extension in the webstore.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

jane doeOct 7, 2021

Unfortunately, it doens't work with pdfs. It does higlight webpages and saves it, but if you try to highlight a pdf it just does nothing. Which is incredibly disappointing as pdfs are the main way researchers read research.

1 out of 6 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

William SituAug 6, 2021

Great notes app that works across multiple webpages. Data persists if you turn off and on the extension, and can import/export notes easily. Edit: -2 stars for pushing an update that deletes all my notes. I know was a bug, but a single event like that negates the convenience of the extension. The export is in json so it isn't very interoperable with other note apps anyway.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Google apps