Reviews: Reader Mode
Item logo image for Reader Mode

Reader Mode

readermode.io
Featured
3.7(

139 ratings

)

3.7 out of 5

139 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Imogen SmithMay 19, 2024

Oh my goodness, I just installed this extension and I’m already obsessed. I simplified an article filled with irritating gifs but containing useful advice I wanted to keep. I was able to remove the gifs and anything else I didn't want! Thank you so much!

Review's profile picture

Harold BraylenMay 13, 2024

This chrome extension is absolutely amazing. I'm a Primary school teacher and it helps children with a broad range of needs. It's so easy to set up and the customizable features are absolutely a game changer!

Review's profile picture

Kiana YasminMay 13, 2024

Great extension! Really effective to hide ads, videos, and unnecessary elements, making reading online articles much more enjoyable. Consistent font, colors, and layout also helps in maintaining focus on the content and eliminating distractions. 5 stars!

Review's profile picture

Jacob HernandezMay 3, 2024

Works really well but it doesn't allow me to change some parts without a premium subscription. Would like just a few more options for the free version.

Replier's profile picture

Ryzal YusoffDeveloperMay 3, 2024

Hi Jacob, thank you for your feedback! We're glad to hear that you're finding our Reader Mode extension useful. We understand your desire for more customization options in the free version, and we're always looking for ways to improve our user experience. To better address your needs, could you please provide some examples of the features or parts you would like to be able to change without a premium subscription? Your input will help us prioritize and consider enhancements for future updates. We're committed to providing a valuable and accessible reading experience for all users, and your feedback plays a crucial role in shaping the direction of our development efforts. Thank you for being a part of our community, and we look forward. Ryzal

Review's profile picture

Shai ColemanMay 2, 2024

It's spyware - it sends URLs you visit with your unique user ID as "statistics", even when not using the reader mode extension. Example data which is encrypted for obfuscation: [{"fileDate":"2024-05-02T10:56:39.061Z","deviceTimestamp":1714647399.061,"userId":"4da4940a-f6af-4092-8f24-e14fb6cc524f ","targetUrl":"https://www.amazon.com/","requestType":"GET"}]

3 out of 4 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Ryzal YusoffDeveloperMay 3, 2024

Hi Shai, thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We completely understand the importance of privacy and want to assure you that our Reader Mode extension is not spyware. The "statistics" you've mentioned is actually part of our safe-browsing functionality, designed to enhance your online security. To opt-out, you can do so by clicking "Decline" on the consent popup when you first installed and opens Reader Mode. And for further clarification, the click stream data collected from our safe-browsing feature is solely used for the purpose of evaluating and analyzing URLs to ensure your safety while browsing. This data is anonymized and encrypted to protect your privacy. We do not associate it with any personally identifiable information. We take privacy seriously and are committed to being transparent about how our extension operates. If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to us directly at ryzal@readermode.io. Your feedback is invaluable as we continue to improve our services. Ryzal

Review's profile picture

Carolina AtkinsApr 21, 2024

Absolutely love the extension! It's not just an incredibly useful tool for a distraction-free reading experience with features like dyslexia support, bookmarking, and text-to-speech, but it also aligns with my values of environmental sustainability. And with Reader Mode for Good feature I can contribute to tree planting just by browsing is a fantastic initiative. It's reassuring to know that using this extension can have a positive impact on the planet without altering my browsing habits. G... Show more

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

kim hyungApr 21, 2024

Love this extension! It's a real eye saver and simplifies reading immensely. It certainly doubles my productivity

2 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

MillieApr 21, 2024

This Chrome extension is really a game-changer! It cleans up web pages and making reading online so much smoother. It's also packed with super thoughtful features like dyslexia support and tools for annotating and highlighting— which are really helpful for deep dives into content. And with it's eco-friendly Reader Mode for Good feature: it allows you to plant trees while you browse, which I really appreciate :) Make it really perfect for anyone who loves reading online and wants to do good fo... Show more

2 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Armando NaniaApr 21, 2024

!!! MALWARE ALERT !!! ################## DO NOT INSTALL THIS EXTENSION ################## Every time you visit any Amazon related website (amazon.com, primevideo.com etc.), it redirects you to a website this website: linkhaitao. It is trying to make you download some viruses...

4 out of 7 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Ryzal YusoffDeveloperApr 21, 2024

Hi Armando, Thank you for sharing your concerns. I want to assure you that "Reader Mode" is committed to providing a safe and secure user experience. We do not engage in any form of malware activity, and our extension, including its specific feature "Reader Mode for Good", does not redirect users to other websites without consent. This feature collaborates with Impact Hero to support environmental initiatives by momentarily opening a new tab when you visit one of our partner sites. This is to prove that the traffic to these sites comes from our user community, helping us support our environmental efforts at no extra cost to you. It's possible that the issue you experienced is due to another extension or software on your device affecting your browsing. We recommend checking your installed extensions and running a malware scan to ensure safety. Please note that the "Reader Mode for Good" should only activate when visiting our merchant partners and not with every site visit, like Amazon, unless they are part of this program. If this feature is not of interest to you, it can be easily disabled from Settings > Reader Mode for Good in the extension. We value transparency and user trust. If you have further questions or need assistance, please feel free to reach out to us at ryzal@readdermode.io. We are committed to resolving any concerns to your satisfaction and ensuring a smooth experience while supporting important environmental causes. Ryzal

Review's profile picture

Sumit DahalApr 19, 2024

Full of malware and adwares...

4 out of 7 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Ryzal YusoffDeveloperApr 21, 2024

Hi Sumit, thank you for sharing your concerns. I want to assure you that our extension, Reader Mode, does not contain any malware or adware. We prioritize user security and privacy, and our extension is regularly checked to comply with the highest safety standards. If you are experiencing issues, it could be due to another source unrelated to our extension. We are here to help resolve any problems you might be facing. Please contact our support team at ryzal@readermode.io with any specifics or screenshots of the issue, and we will assist you promptly. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to helping you resolve this issue. Best regards, Ryzal

Google apps