Reviews: Read Mode
Item logo image for Read Mode

Read Mode

3.3(

371 ratings

)

3.3 out of 5

371 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Pat MySecretNov 29, 2021

Funky imagery/layout. A little slower than most similar types. This extension is not trusted by Enhanced Safe Browsing. No options. This reader blurbed things out unexpectedly ..with either an odd arc image, or just info deletion..and it didn't offer me things that I couldn't find elsewhere. Last update 2012

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

komar alanantaFeb 23, 2021

doesn't seems to work for me. EDIT : Now it works. refresh your page for first time use.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

NicholasFeb 18, 2021

Great extension! Allows me to use a Greasemonkey script for auto-scrolling on keypress (link to script: https://greasyfork.org/en/scripts/7658-auto-scroll-keys-adopted) for the TestOut website by successfully scrolling through the Read Mode page. Before this extension, the TestOut page did not allow this script to function.

Review's profile picture

Maurice SericoFeb 18, 2020

Read Mode seems very clunky to me. First, the icon on a tool bar is almost invisible on the toolbar in dark mode. Seeing that it is made for people who have trouble with busy website layouts the extension generally throws a number of large monochrome icons up at the beginning of articles that aren't really useful for reading purposes. Then there are often extraneous bits of text before or beside the article. Also you can't adjust the size of text within the extension. The Safari built in read... Show more

Review's profile picture

殷悦May 4, 2019

No options or custom settings but the best!

Review's profile picture

Maksym BarbulMar 28, 2019

I use it rarely, though it always worked for me. I was not trying to run it on facebook or similar complex sites, mostly used for some blogs. Recently I found out the extension was producing errors (Mixed content) on a HTTPS sites and not overriding fonts as those are blocked by browser (hosted out by HTTP service). Could you please fix this, it'd be simple?

Review's profile picture

Tom LoredoMar 10, 2019

This extension often works well in terms of giving you a more readable view. However, it causes security warnings on many sites (perhaps all https sites); this appears as shield badge with a red "x", indicating "Insecure content blocked." This happens *whether or not you are actually in read mode*. This sometimes prevents some sites from working correctly unless you click the shield and reload the page with the insecure content allowed. It shouldn't be acceptable behavior for an extension to ... Show more

Review's profile picture

Dmitri LarionovJan 26, 2019

The plug in attempts to load scripts from unauthenticated sources. While this might be a false positive caught by chrome's system, I'd rather not use something that might be unsafe.

Review's profile picture

Dalveer SinghJan 22, 2019

try "Reader View", that is much better and effortless.. link: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/reader-view/ecabifbgmdmgdllomnfinbmaellmclnh

Review's profile picture

A Chrome Web Store userOct 14, 2018

It's fine except that I cannot change the font type or text size, also can't read in dark/grey mode... or mode that is not to hurtful to the eyes... all it does is stripped away unnecessary stuff, that's all... but reading experience could not be very much improved.

Google apps