Reviews: Rakuten: Get Cash Back For Shopping
Item logo image for Rakuten: Get Cash Back For Shopping

Rakuten: Get Cash Back For Shopping

rakuten.com
Featured
4.9(

43.7K ratings

)
ExtensionShopping3,000,000 users

4.9 out of 5

43.7K ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Jason ChuJun 25, 2024

The cashback is nice but the persistent pop up button is terrible with no option to disable entirely (only per-site or per-session). It is so annoying that I usually just disable the extension altogether when I'm not shopping.

Review's profile picture

Breawn MooreJun 22, 2024

The new popup on the screen is absolutely dreadful, why are you being so invasive when the original add-on was completely fine? I'll try to get used to this new, unnecessary popup, but I'll likely completely remove the add-on all together. Give us a choice, please.

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

M.A.Jun 22, 2024

After some new update, this extension now forces you to view a small persistent pop-up on the screen, even after activating the cash back feature. Your only option is to "hide it" for 30 minutes. I don't see a way to hide or disable it and it is invasive. Will be removing the extension as a result.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Patricia AllenJun 17, 2024

I love Rakuten I enjoy getting the surprise checks in the mail.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

RakutenDeveloperJun 18, 2024

We love helping our Members earn that Cash Back and sending out those Big Fat Checks! Thank you for the kind words. Happy Shopping!

Review's profile picture

Victor GeorgievJun 16, 2024

The latest version seems has introduced a floating icon that can only be paused for 30 mins/the current session but not permanently disabled. I would consider revising my rating if a configuration was made customer-facing to disable this floating icon.

Replier's profile picture

RakutenDeveloperJun 18, 2024

Thank you for this feedback. The "bubble" feature is a built-in feature of our Rakuten Browser Extension. We are sorry it is getting in your way. This "bubble" can be moved up and down the side of the website you are viewing, so it can be moved out of the way of anything that you may need to access. This feature is built into our extension and cannot be turned off within the settings of our extension currently. We'll work to improve this experience in future updates to our extension.

Review's profile picture

Raptros PtJun 16, 2024

Hi, i'm in Europe any hopes we'll ever see this app working in the EU?

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

RakutenDeveloperJun 18, 2024

Currently, we have extensions available for our services based in the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom. We hope to bring similar services to other countries as well sometime in the future.

Review's profile picture

John MJun 15, 2024

Doesn't work anymore. It used to register my cash back after a purchase, but over the past 1 to 2 years, it has NEVER registered any cash back. I should have well over $100 in cash back pending, but my account balance as been at 66 cents for well over a year. Does this mean that Rakuten is getting their share from my purchase and not giving me my percentage? Scammy.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

RakutenDeveloperJun 15, 2024

We absolutely want our Members to receive the Cash Back from their eligible purchases! Our team is here 24 hours a day/7 days a week over email to support our Members. Please feel to reach out to us at socialhelp@rakuten.com so we can help you out.

Review's profile picture

Julie MarquisJun 13, 2024

For the last YEAR, every time I click on a store link, my browser can't open it. "This site can’t be reached Check if there is a typo in www.ojrq.net. If spelling is correct, try running Windows Network Diagnostics. DNS_PROBE_FINISHED_NXDOMAIN" (whether I have the extension added to Chrome or not!) :(

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Replier's profile picture

RakutenDeveloperJun 14, 2024

We typically see these issues when our Members have any ad or traffic blocking extensions added and enabled in the browser they use to access our services or at the computer/network level when shopping from a laptop or desktop computer. This issue may also be caused by the anti-virus software you currently use. Updating the extensions or anti-virus software to trust Rakuten, in most cases, resolves these issues. For more help, please reach out to us at socialhelp@rakuten.com.

Review's profile picture

Brandon GrayJun 11, 2024

After working great for years this extension recently started automatically opening new tabs and pinning them when clicking to enable cashback on a particular site. Incredibly annoying feature that no one wanted. If that isn't removed or presented as a configurable option soon, I'll be un-installing.

4 out of 4 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

RakutenDeveloperJun 12, 2024

In most cases, our extension will enable on the same tab where it was activated. Some websites may cause a second tab to open once our extension is activated. Our Cash Back Button is not designed to pin or bookmark websites to any copy of Chrome. We'd be happy to dig into your experience with our extension and get your feedback! Please reach out to our team at socialhelp@rakuten.com so we can help you out.

Review's profile picture

George SJun 11, 2024

It works. You won't get rich saving 1 or 2 percent... especially if you spend more money thinking you are saving money. But if you are buying item anyway, why not get a few pennies back. Costs nothing and checks actually get sent out. (Tip: pay for item with rewards credit card and you are getting money back from two places.) No reason not to install it.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

RakutenDeveloperJun 11, 2024

Thank you! Every little bit counts these days. We love adding a bit more "cha-ching" to our Members' everyday shopping.

Google apps