Reviews: Rain Alarm Extension
Item logo image for Rain Alarm Extension

Rain Alarm Extension

www.rain-alarm.com
Featured
4.4(

431 ratings

)

4.4 out of 5

431 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

JordanJun 13, 2024

This extension is good, has everything right, my location and the true weather and rain. i got another weather app on my iphone that shows everything, this extension is all correct

Review's profile picture

Alterio MireaultMay 31, 2024

Works flawless

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Igor DugonjicMar 12, 2024

one of the must have apps, completely changed my thinking about the weather and organizing my commuting or outdoor activities, thank you who ever provided this app and web <3 (Now I see in the commentes below that it is Michael, thank you!!!!!!)

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Pedro Rojas CampuzanoSep 7, 2023

I don't understand how it works the on off button is confusing in the chrome extension. I don't know if it is on or off.

1 out of 3 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Michael DienerDeveloperSep 8, 2023

If "on" is in light blue it is enabled. Regarding how it works, when you open the website the first time, there is a quick how-to. Basically the app will alert you when rain is coming close. There is nothing you have to set-up except your location and it will just work. It runs in the background and you don't have to manage it in any way. More info: micha@rain-alarm.com

Review's profile picture

Billy WootenJun 21, 2023

Love this extension, however, I am giving it 4 stars. I'm an IT guy (go programmer), so I'm more backend, but I noticed on Chrome 114.0.5735.134, that sometimes I'll click rain alarm to bring up the radar and it doesn't do anything. The only solution I've found is to wait and it'll eventually start working or opening the extension settings via the extension page, at that point it starts to work again. Not sure if the thread gets stuck, or if it's a cache issue, but I've enabled logging so we... Show more

4 out of 5 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Michael DienerDeveloperJun 22, 2023

Thanks for letting me know, I also saw it the other day, but it is not easily reproducible. Not sure how and why this happens, but now I have made the code more resilient and submitted a new extension version (1.6.3). It will take a few days for this to be reviewed by the Chrome Web Store team before it is published and eventually updated in your browser. Let me know if this works better for you then.

Review's profile picture

Daniel EppersonFeb 26, 2023

quit working for chrome buildVersion 91.0.4472.167 , does not activate , location cannot be set , no notifications , nothing. DEV needs to work on this

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Replier's profile picture

Michael DienerDeveloperFeb 27, 2023

Please note that this is not a general issue. Most likely it is caused by using an older Chrome version - please update to the latest one (AFAIK 110.x) and let me know if the problem persists. micha@rain-alarm.com

Review's profile picture

Mike SavadAug 6, 2021

i would have rather seen this as a drop down window rather than a bookmark. because i can book mark a site no problem. i have this on my phone and its much more useful. unless the icon changes when there is rain, i don't see why i need this to clutter my screen.

4 out of 6 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Michael DienerDeveloperAug 9, 2021

The icon actually does change when there is/was a notification. There will be a small red square in the top left. Also, it is more than a bookmark because of the alarm functionality.

Review's profile picture

Guido DCJul 14, 2021

I don't get it, I can't preview rain for one or more hours: there's as good as no "preview" for coming rain events. At most some 10 minutes. What am I with a knowledge of past rain events.

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Replier's profile picture

Michael DienerDeveloperJul 19, 2021

As we try to make users aware in the app's description and welcome screen, the app is not a forecast, but instead warns using almost real-time alarms when rain is actually nearing. These alarms arrive early enough before the rain and work in our experience better than any forecast can ever be. Just try the alarms for a bit and see how it works for you. micha@rain-alarm.com

Review's profile picture

Ben OlsonJun 11, 2021

Doesn't work. Last night it was raining, well, pretty hard. I installed this during it happened. Is it because that?

5 out of 6 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Michael DienerDeveloperJun 14, 2021

What exactly didn't work? Was there no notification? Did you see rain on the map (when clicking on the extension's icon) at the time? For which city in which country did this happen? Just shoot me an email, this will be easier: micha@rain-alarm.com

Review's profile picture

E LJan 7, 2021

Now I don't have to keep looking out the window...or running out to keep those clothes.

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Google apps