Reviews: Privacy Badger
Item logo image for Privacy Badger

Privacy Badger

www.eff.org
Featured
4.4(

1.7K ratings

)

4.4 out of 5

1.7K ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Keith GoodwinMay 17, 2024

I've been using it for years. Sometimes I have to disable it on websites with forms as it seems to get disconnected and error out. Other than that, it quietly blocks excessive trackers from gathering data just because they latched on to your data somehow. I use it with uBlock Origin as well, they work great together.

Review's profile picture

Rocko MonkeyboneApr 22, 2024

Doesn't block YT ads.

1 out of 48 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Electronic Frontier Foundation Software ProjectsDeveloperApr 22, 2024

Privacy Badger is a privacy tool, not an ad blocker. Its aim is not to block ads, but to prevent non-consensual invasions of privacy. If you really dislike ads, install a traditional ad blocker instead of, or in addition to Privacy Badger.

Review's profile picture

José M. R.Apr 12, 2024

It is what it says and it works as they say!

8 out of 8 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

DrakeMar 16, 2024

Easy tool to block trackers, you just install and forget, nothing to configure!

11 out of 12 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Allan ShandMar 4, 2024

This extension is the first thing I add after installing a browser. My CPU should be running my programs and if a company wants my data they can get out their wallet and pay "ME" for it Thank you EFF and Privacy Badger devs for helping me give the middle finger to data thieves BTW I wonder how much energy is saved by Privacy Badger that isn't being used by transferring useless ads and running javascripts???

5 out of 5 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

alejandro pronoMar 1, 2024

The extension takes too much time to load after opening the browser. Aside from this problem its a good extension

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Review's profile picture

Paul B.Feb 12, 2024

Does a good job, but lacks one very basic function. Every site I go to I have to allow the Twitter frame or the Disqus frame, etc. What is needed is a way to globally allow trusted elements. Do it once globally and be done with it. What I do especially like is that it cleans Facebook links of all their filthy tracking information. But the aforementioned lack is an annoyance.

1 out of 5 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Electronic Frontier Foundation Software ProjectsDeveloperFeb 12, 2024

If you'd like to see tweets load and track you by default all across the Web, open Privacy Badger's popup window on a page with a tweet on it, and move the slider for platform.twitter.com to the middle, yellow position. To open Privacy Badger's popup, click on Privacy Badger's icon in your browser toolbar. If you don't see Privacy Badger's icon, look for it inside the puzzle piece icon menu in your browser toolbar. To get help with Privacy Badger in the future, please email extension-devs@eff.org. The reviews page is not the right place for this.

Review's profile picture

No peFeb 2, 2024

This extention broke ChatGPT with error like : TypeError: Failed to execute 'getReader' on 'ReadableStream': ReadableStreamDefaultReader constructor can only accept readable streams that are not yet locked to a reader.

0 out of 6 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Electronic Frontier Foundation Software ProjectsDeveloperFeb 2, 2024

This should get automatically fixed within the next 24 hours. You can fix this for yourself now by visiting Privacy Badger's options page, selecting the Tracking Domains tab, searching for "webpubsub.azure.com", and moving the slider for "webpubsub.azure.com" to the middle (yellow) position. To get help with Privacy Badger in the future, please email extension-devs@eff.org

Review's profile picture

Store ManagerJan 26, 2024

Been using it for years. All of my stuff, my kids and work computers. I use two other extensions in conjunction with this and the whole web gets cleaned up, and all sorts of things stop happening. I am only writing this review because of the review below from Bobby Jones. I hope Bobby gets some tech help but it ain't this extension. I am not affiliated with nor do I make any money from any of the extensions I use. I feel better when the knuckleheads at work use a station and I have all my par... Show more

11 out of 11 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Bobby JonesNov 18, 2023

Extension will not load. Does nothing. Tried uninstalling and reinstalling. The extension does not respond. It does not allow access to configurations. It does not show it's properties. All configuration screens are blank. It's dead Jim.

5 out of 33 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Electronic Frontier Foundation Software ProjectsDeveloperNov 20, 2023

Hello! I would like to help you, but the reviews page is not the right place. To get help or to report bugs, please email extension-devs@eff.org

Google apps