Reviews: podStation Podcast Player
Item logo image for podStation Podcast Player

podStation Podcast Player

podstation.github.io
4.7(

415 ratings

)

4.7 out of 5

415 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Dave MainoJun 30, 2024

I tried a ton of podcasting apps and extensions before settling on this one. It has a simple and intuitive interface that does all the basics that I need it to do. I can easily subscribe to podcasts and it notifies me when there are new episodes available. It auto-plays the next episode in the list, which is convenient while I'm working to just keep things rolling along in the background. If you're looking for an easy-to-use podcasting extension with a good feature set I would highly recomm... Show more

Review's profile picture

Steven “Slips” PhillipsJun 5, 2024

Keeping in mind the app is a work in progress and the author keeps asking people how to make it better; When I make a playlist the list won't start automatically and when I manually start my playlist the podcasts won't automatically advance to the next podcast(s). When I review the "Latest Episodes" list episodes I've already listened to aren't indicated or even removed entirely and there is no way for me to manually indicate which episodes I have listened to or remove them from the Episodes ... Show more

Replier's profile picture

Guilherme DellagustinDeveloperJun 5, 2024

Hello Steven, I don't have plans to automatically start playing a podcast when it is added to the playlist, but there is an option in the player called "continue playing". When you use that, the next podcast will play when the current one ends. You can choose between playing the next episode from the playlist, from the last episodes or from the same episode. As for the option for marking episodes as listened and hiding them, this blog post explains why this option is not available on podStation: https://podstation.blogspot.com/2017/11/why-cant-i-mark-episodes-as-listened-on.html It does not mean it is impossible that I will ever implement it, but I is a difficult one.

Review's profile picture

Reg HowardJun 2, 2024

Have just received the notification about possible disruption to the PodStation service. Please (!) continue your work to revive it if this happens, PodStation has been the best podcast 'app' I've tried and come across. Best wishes.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Guilherme DellagustinDeveloperJun 5, 2024

Thank you for the kind words, I'll do my best.

Review's profile picture

Arijit MJun 1, 2024

Dear Mr. Guilherme, this is my ONLY Podcast extension for the longest time. It has been so long I fail to recall when I started using it (perhaps 4+ years now). I have been a silent admirer of the extension everyday that I have used it, simply owing to how easy-to-use & organized it is. I can tell this is a product made out of love & dedication as it does not have the commercial bells & whistles. Although it will be sad if this extension shuts off, I fully understand your need to balance your... Show more

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Guilherme DellagustinDeveloperJun 5, 2024

Hello Arijit, thank you very much for sharing and for your kind words. I'm really hoping I manage to bring podStation back, as so much people are using it to listen to their favorite podcasts!

Review's profile picture

cr polMay 31, 2024

Very nice, very useful and well done. It has made my viewing of Club Twit.tv simple.

Replier's profile picture

Guilherme DellagustinDeveloperJun 5, 2024

Thank you for the review.

Review's profile picture

Óli TómasMay 28, 2024

I am a developer and i mainly use podStation to test RSS feeds created by my software. Cant live without it!

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Guilherme DellagustinDeveloperJun 5, 2024

Nice to know that, can you tell me what software you created that generates RSS feeds?

Review's profile picture

Kim HoffmanMay 28, 2024

This is one of the few podcast apps that is user friendly to me as a blind person using a screen reader. Thanks and hope it won't be gone for long!

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Guilherme DellagustinDeveloperJun 5, 2024

Thank you for the message. I never had the time to actively test podStation for accessibility, but I'm very glad it works well for you. In the future, when the things are better with podStation, I would be glad to work on improvements to make it even more accessible, if you have suggestions.

Review's profile picture

Marilou H.M.May 28, 2024

Some of my usual podcasts are spotify only now which makes me really sad because I much prefer this player. To the creator: Thank you for all your hard work, I read you are going through rough times, so I'm sending you all the good vibes I can!

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Guilherme DellagustinDeveloperJun 5, 2024

I'm glad you are taking value from podStation. Thank you for your kind words.

Review's profile picture

Thomas HochstadtMay 7, 2024

oldschool GUI but does what it should

Replier's profile picture

Guilherme DellagustinDeveloperMay 9, 2024

Hi Thomas, thank you for your review. The oldschool GUI is in part a consequence of my lack of experience as a frontend developer, but I also made an effort to keep it lean and clean as a design principle for podStation. If there is anything missing to make it 5 star, please let me know.

Review's profile picture

Len KowalikMay 2, 2024

I just installed this extension, so I have not used it very much. I wanted to say how impressed I am already with it, especially the way it lists recent podcasts by default, and the many options it provides, except for the link to Fakebook .

Replier's profile picture

Guilherme DellagustinDeveloperMay 5, 2024

Hello Len, than you for the review. What do you mean with "except for the link to Facebook"? What is missing for you to give it 5 stars?

Google apps