Reviews: Photos New Tab
Item logo image for Photos New Tab

Photos New Tab

photosnewtab.com
4.2(

32 ratings

)

4.2 out of 5

32 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Melissa DumontJul 12, 2024

Always the same 30 photos are shown, when I have near 600 photos in my album

Replier's profile picture

Cory ZueDeveloperJul 14, 2024

Hi Melissa, sorry to hear that! What might help with that problem is if you click "configure" and then click the little spinny refresh button next to the "# photos" text. Sometimes the albums can fail to load all the pictures, but that should hopefully sync things.

Review's profile picture

Linh Dao SmookeApr 17, 2024

Hey Cory - I LOVE LOVE LOVE THE EXTENSION and have been using it ferociously for years. Lately I added a lot of pictures to my google and the app has been refusing to reconnect now matter how many times I install/uninstall, remove chrome, reinstall chrome, restart my computer. I even went as far as moving a folder with only 600+ photos to a different gmail acccount and trying to connect that instead but the app seems stuck forever. Can you please fix? thank you very much. brings a smile to my... Show more

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Cory ZueDeveloperApr 18, 2024

Hi Linh - thanks so much for the kind words and I'm so sorry about the troubles you were facing! I believe the root cause was caused by a rate-limiting loop. Basically, the app got rate-limited but didn't handle the error properly and so kept trying the request, which only exacerbated the rate limits. I've just published an update to the extension (version 1.0) which should hopefully address this. It is currently "Pending Review" but will hopefully be updated here in the store in a few hours. I'll privately send you a few more tips on getting this to work.

Review's profile picture

Coleyna NevtelenJan 20, 2024

I really enjoy this app! I don't understand what Zee is talking about. If having your choice of the images that appear whenever you open a new tab would be too much of a “distraction” for you, then why would you add an app that enables you to have that choice in the first place? And why rail against this app for drawing your images from Google Photos? It has to draw your photos from somewhere. Even if the images came from an alternate source, having your choice of images appearing in new tab... Show more

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Zee aminSep 2, 2023

Adds to my stress with too many distractions. this will not mak google more popular. that is the main reason why I do NOT use MS Edge..... I hate the concept ....that is why i have stuck with Google right from the beginning.... already more than a decade!!!! your photo app is already very good and now that MS has dropped its photo app people will naturally use google photos.....please dont add this photo app on the new page....its horrible!

0 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Cory ZueDeveloperSep 2, 2023

Hi Zee, sorry you didn't like it. If you don't want photos on your new tab page, you should certainly not use this extension!

Review's profile picture

Korey LeicherApr 23, 2021

It would only show me two of my photos, no matter how many tabs I opened. Even the settings weren't helpful. Would not recommend, but who reads the reviews on web store anyway?

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Cory ZueDeveloperApr 24, 2021

I read them! Is it possible that the only album you configured had only two photos in it? Or do you have any other details you can share? I'd love to get to the bottom of why it wasn't working.

Review's profile picture

Rowena LukJul 16, 2020

Highly recommend. Photos New Tab is a great way to bring a smile to my day at work, by reminding me of a good memory every time I open a new tab on my browser. I appreciate being able to selectively pick which Google Photos albums to show.

Review's profile picture

KEPENATUAAN PANGKALPINANGJul 14, 2020

good

Review's profile picture

Jessene BeecroftFeb 14, 2020

Thank you

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

madiAug 28, 2019

I have been frustrated for quite a while that I had to just choose one picture as a background. This app has been a blessing. Keep up the hard work!!

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Cory ZueDeveloperSep 4, 2019

Cheers, glad you like it Madi!

Review's profile picture

Michael BauerMar 16, 2019

I couldn't use this extension first, because something was changed at Googles side and the extension didn't work. I asked for support and the developer fixed it, so now I can use the extension and I love it! Seeing all the long forgotten photos from my albums is awesome.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Google apps