Reviews: Outliner | Improving your reading experience

4.2 out of 5

52 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

leah_tard_Mar 5, 2022

I loved this extension but now it doesn't work! Every time I click on it it sends me to a 404 "this site can't be reached"- what's the issue?

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Rodrigo RodriguesDeveloperMar 6, 2022

Hey Leah, Outline.com has been down for some days now. This is not Outline.com, this is an extension, that invokes their service. This extension can't do anything if their service is down, sorry.

Review's profile picture

Jorge FerreiraDec 17, 2021

Very good, I didn't know this was a thing and now I'm so happy to use it!

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

benjamin leeNov 24, 2021

not working for me does not work on rt.com sfgate.come

0 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Rodrigo RodriguesDeveloperNov 25, 2021

Hey Benjamin! Although I've said hundred times I'm not responsible for the *service* that Outline.com provides but only for *this extension that provides a shortcut to their service*, I just tested both, my extension and Outline.com clutter service, at https://rt.com and it worked correctly. Maybe you had an issue on your side?

Review's profile picture

Vítor MouratoSep 17, 2021

Used it once, worked as intended, I like it.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

DarkVioletteAug 31, 2021

Stopped operating for me today--I have liked this app till now. I reloaded it, and still nothing, I don't know what changed.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Rodrigo RodriguesDeveloperSep 2, 2021

Hi Elizabeth, I recently updated the extension and moved it to some new code recommended by Google but I could see some users are facing difficulties. I'm trying to fix the problems but also Google takes some time to approve the changes, so I hope to get the extension up & running 100% soon again. Sorry for that!

Review's profile picture

Darius KwiedorowiczAug 28, 2021

It was great until it stopped working a few days ago. Chrome 92.0.4515.159 on MacOS 10.15.7. Removed the extension and reinstalled, still no joy. Context menu does nothing, icon disappeared from the menu bar at top.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Rodrigo RodriguesDeveloperAug 28, 2021

Hi Darius, I recently updated the extension code and I can tell from my own experience that the first time I used it after it was updated from the Chrome Store I had some similar experience you had. But it worked correctly after I restarted Chrome. Can you give it a second try? The last version (Aug-2021) is v1.5.1, you can check if it's updated in your machine as well. You can also open an issue request in the repo at https://github.com/taxpayer/outliner-extension. I'm concentrating the issues management there. Thanks!

Review's profile picture

CharlesAug 27, 2021

I really liked this extension. But now, is requiring permission to read the web browsing history, why? I'll uninstall it.

3 out of 4 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Rodrigo RodriguesDeveloperAug 27, 2021

Hi Charles, I'm not sure why you got that request, but I didn't change any code asking any more permissions that before. BTW, it's the other way around, as I moved the extension to Google Manifest v3, now the needed permissions are even clearer and I also removed unused code in v1.5.0, that required even one less permission. Anyway, the source code is published at https://github.com/taxpayer/outliner-extension. You can check there everything. This extension does a simple and straightforward job, and no personal information and/or data is required or caught during its use. Thanks, Rod

Review's profile picture

Desmond HawkinsMay 12, 2021

I found this extension pretty much unusable. I opened a web page, clicked on the pinned Outliner icon, and it changed to show that it was loading (adding a few dots "…" in a gray box). After maybe 10 seconds without anything happening I just closed the tab and tried on another: same thing, no effect at all. I tried a third, and suddenly multiple tabs opened all at once to outlined versions of the pages I had tried it on. It was a good 30 seconds after the initial click and not *at all* what I... Show more

3 out of 6 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Rodrigo RodriguesDeveloperAug 27, 2021

Hi Desmond, this developer heard your voice and I eliminated all code that wasn't working so well as it used to do when I first created the extension due to some changes Outline.com has made since then. I hope you like the improved version (it's available on v1.5) but if you still face any issues, please let me know. (BTW, you can blame this late answer on Google's review process, they took a looooong time to approve this new version :-P)

Review's profile picture

Eduardo SimioniApr 15, 2021

I really like it, I'm giving 4 stars because it could save us some work with an option (or default behavior) of opening in the same tab. Currently it opens in a different tab, then when I've finished reading I have to close the new tab, find the original tab and close it too.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Rodrigo RodriguesDeveloperAug 27, 2021

Hi Eduardo, the extension tries to be as much straightforward as it can, so I didn't create any kind of configuration, but I'll try to implement your suggestion, trying to keep it as simple as possible. Thanks for the feedback!

Review's profile picture

Fabrício Z. PereiraJan 18, 2021

True heroes wear no cape! Thanks for the updates, ma man!

1 person found this review to be helpful
Google apps