Reviews: New TongWenTang

4.4 out of 5

564 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Robin S.May 20, 2021

Does exactly what I want. Perfect

Review's profile picture

Sunny MiuMay 4, 2021

Loads of functions were cut from the latest revamp. No font size conversion and wildcard URL conversion

Review's profile picture

Jeff TsaiApr 2, 2021

Please explain why the new version needs 3 new permissions ?

4 out of 4 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Yang Tan (t7yang)DeveloperOct 9, 2022

https://github.com/tongwentang/tongwentang-extension/blob/master/docs/permission/permission.md

Review's profile picture

EmilyApr 5, 2020

Hasn't been updated in a while, so it now works only when you set it to auto-convert (which is fine for me, since I read only in traditional anyway). Still the best converter I've used, bar none. Most other converters I've tried either under-converts (e.g. keeping 聽 as 听) or over-converts (e.g. converting 只 to 隻), but New Tong Wen Tang must use some fancy extra code checks to compare words before/after so as not to do that, since it gets it right most of the time. (There's still some slip-ups... Show more

2 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Miika SomersaloFeb 19, 2020

Auto doesn't work but manually clicking the button works

Review's profile picture

JayMar 13, 2019

I find this very useful for my studying needs. Page conversion on button click doesn't work but conversation via context menu does.

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

J KApr 7, 2018

Button Function: Detect and Convert automatically does not work on movie.douban.com or movie.douban.com/subject/10527275/ please fix it thanks

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Lo BoMar 26, 2018

Very Useful

Review's profile picture

AaronNov 14, 2017

Great for converting simplified characters to traditional. Tuan Ngoc Nguyen's instructions were helpful.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Filip FilipovićOct 24, 2017

I really like your extensions. Five stars. But would you please consider adding keyboard shortcuts for conversion? I learn Chinese online using Duolingo and Clozemaster where the content of the page changes dynamically so it would be nice to just use keyboard shortcuts instead of the context menu.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Google apps