Reviews: Netflix Subtitles Reader

3.5 out of 5

17 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

DAN T.Feb 18, 2024

It doesn't work with youtube.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Meetul JainDeveloperFeb 18, 2024

Please make sure subtitles are enabled in the youtube video that you are using the extension on and please read the FAQs. P.S.: This is a free, ad-free, no-signup-required, totally barrier-free, free extension. If there is something you don't like in the extension or if you would like to request a feature that is not already present, please use the Support tab instead of leaving a negative rating.

Review's profile picture

Nam TranFeb 3, 2024

It's really great, it helps me watch netflix without interruption. But I often use Cast Player: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/cast-player/dionggdmdobjjolppiiejleechniphok to watch videos from my computer with subtitles. I wish Netflix Subtitles Reader could support reading subtitles out loud, please.

Replier's profile picture

Meetul JainDeveloperFeb 3, 2024

Thank you for the positive feedback. I checked Cast Player to see if I could make it work with this extension, however, because of the way this extension works, I am afraid it won't be possible to read subtitles from a casted video :(

Review's profile picture

Hussein Ai SaffarJan 26, 2024

It works good and I tried it on Netflix. It didn't work the first time but after I close the browser and open it back at work but it does not work on 9animetv.to OR aniwave.to.

Replier's profile picture

Meetul JainDeveloperJan 26, 2024

Thanks for the review. The extension is only meant to work on Netflix (as in the title of the extension) and is not designed for the mentioned websites. P.S.: This is a free, ad-free, no-signup-required, totally barrier-free, free extension. If there is something you don't like in the extension or if you would like to request a feature that is not already present, please use the Support tab instead of leaving a negative rating.

Review's profile picture

Melissa WebbOct 19, 2023

Not perfect but pretty darn good. It's not without some flaws but by far the best one I have tried and the only one that works on Netflix remotely well. I don't mind subtitles but between having vision issues and ADHD making it impossible to focus on reading for more than a few minutes at a time it prevents me (and I'm sure many others) from enjoying series and movies that are not audio dubbed. I love foreign programming; without this app I wouldn't be able to enjoy most of what is available.... Show more

Replier's profile picture

Meetul JainDeveloperOct 19, 2023

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am afraid, creating an iOS app for this extension isn't currently feasible, as the extension relies on the specific Chromium APIs that are accessible in Chrome and Webkit browsers. I noticed you rated us with 4 stars. Is there anything we can improve in the extension to earn a 5-star rating from you?

Review's profile picture

Debbie WisemanOct 8, 2023

Works great!!! I'm in Canada so I had to choose the language en-GB in the settings to get it to work. For my Netflix anyway, that's a tip in case others can't get it to work.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Meetul JainDeveloperOct 8, 2023

Thank you for the positive feedback

Review's profile picture

Ercole SpiteriAug 26, 2023

This extension is really a lifesaver for viewing movies who have not been dubbed to English yet. I usually used to skip movies not dubbed in English as usually this involved constantly reading subtitles with no chance to view the movie. However with this extension I can now watch any movie in any language.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Meetul JainDeveloperAug 29, 2023

Thank you for the positive feedback

Review's profile picture

Michelle TranNov 9, 2022

It's okay but could you possibly add settings for voiceover speed? It's a bit too slow :)

Replier's profile picture

Meetul JainDeveloperJun 25, 2023

Speed option has been added in the latest version of the extension. P.S.: This is a free, ad-free, no-signup-required, totally barrier-free, free extension. If there is something you don't like in the extension or if you would like to request a feature that is not already present, please use the Support tab instead of leaving a negative rating.

Review's profile picture

Elliot WOct 10, 2022

Garbage. Even when it is literally English, it's beyond delayed and repeats things. Messes up easily. Don't waste your time.

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Replier's profile picture

Meetul JainDeveloperJun 24, 2023

The extension uses your system's inbuilt text to speech APIs. If it is stuttering, your system might be getting a lot of interrupts due to some issues in your system. There is nothing at the extension's layer that we (or any other extension) could do to solve this. Please try this on another system or try to debug what hardware or software is causing the underlying interrupts.

Review's profile picture

Avi KumarAug 4, 2022

It's not working. Nothing happens even after I click start button. I am a huge fan of Korean series, and if this extension would be working, it would be a great boon for us. (I am using Microsoft edge as my web browser.)

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Meetul JainDeveloperJun 24, 2023

Were the subtitles enabled? Subtitles have to be enabled in Netflix for this extension to work. If the subtitles are not enabled at Netflix, there would not be any data present on the screen for this extension to read. If it still does not work for you, please try with Google Chrome instead.

Review's profile picture

Pang YangJan 21, 2022

doesn't work

2 out of 3 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Meetul JainDeveloperJun 24, 2023

Were the subtitles enabled? Subtitles have to be enabled in Netflix for this extension to work. If the subtitles are not enabled at Netflix, there would not be any data present on the screen for this extension to read.

Google apps