Reviews: Multi Find: Search and Highlight
Item logo image for Multi Find: Search and Highlight

Multi Find: Search and Highlight

multifind.vgreco.fr
4.2(

35 ratings

)
ExtensionTools3,000 users

4.2 out of 5

35 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

ANew ReignJun 7, 2024

The most useful multi find tool i have used so far.

Replier's profile picture

Vincent GrecoDeveloperJun 7, 2024

Thank you very much. I am very glad you find this extension useful. The next version is coming soon!

Review's profile picture

H YJun 6, 2024

Hi, there is no action when I click this icon, and thus I cant see the interface. is is a bug?

Replier's profile picture

Vincent GrecoDeveloperJun 7, 2024

Hi, If clicking the icon doesn't do anything, it might be due to a few common scenarios: - the page is restricted: extensions don't work on certain Chrome pages (like the Chrome Web Store, where you download the extension) or other system-related pages. - you are on a Google search page (before the results appear): for some reason, this page is not really on Internet, and won't be affect by extensions. But it should work on the results page. - the page need to be reloaded: just after installing an extension, you may need to reload the webpage for the extension to take effect. - the page is local (on your disk): in this case you need to give the extension the appropriate rights to affect the local files, in the Chrome extension settings. Please check these conditions and try again. You can also test the extension is the dedicated test page: https://multifind.vgreco.fr/test.html Thank you for your patience.

Review's profile picture

Василий ПупкинMay 30, 2024

Good tool. Please add a possibility to switch off the keyboard shortcuts.

Replier's profile picture

Vincent GrecoDeveloperJun 1, 2024

Thank you for your feedback! In the newly released version (1.72), I have removed the main keyboard shortcuts (because a lot of people found them annoying). However, you can still add your own shortcuts through the following URL: chrome://extensions/shortcuts.

Review's profile picture

AK xyzMay 28, 2024

Like it. Functional and useful. Am enjoying he proactive feedback of the author. Thank you.

Replier's profile picture

Vincent GrecoDeveloperJun 1, 2024

Thank you for your kind words! I'm glad to hear that you appreciate my extension (and my answers). Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Review's profile picture

Galang CameraMay 27, 2024

Hi Developers, Why does this extension prevents me from doing shortcut keys in chrome, as an example, I am using CTRL+SHIFT + (Arrow Keys) to select multiple data at once, enabling this extension prevents me from doing that. (may change review once fixed)

Replier's profile picture

Vincent GrecoDeveloperMay 28, 2024

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write this feedback. As mentioned in previous responses, it's challenging to find shortcut keys that work for everyone. However, you can customize the shortcuts to your preference by visiting: chrome://extensions/shortcuts. I hope this helps. [Edit] CTRL+SHIFT+Arrow keys have been disabled by default in version 1.72. You can still choose your shortcuts through the link mentioned above.

Review's profile picture

Zizheng WuMay 11, 2024

Please support regex in search!

Replier's profile picture

Vincent GrecoDeveloperMay 18, 2024

I want to keep this extension user-friendly. Regular expressions are very difficult to manipulate, especially for non-Latin characters. Instead, I plan to support wildcard characters.

Review's profile picture

Zizheng WuApr 27, 2024

This seems to be the best regex search highlight extension. The test page at https://multifind.vgreco.fr/test.html makes it clear that this extension outperforms others. However, my workplace has security policies preventing the use of Chrome extensions from the web store unless they are allowlisted. Is there a chance this extension could be open-sourced?

Replier's profile picture

Vincent GrecoDeveloperApr 29, 2024

Thank you for your positive review and feedback! I'm glad to hear that you find Multi Find useful and that you appreciate the test page. Just to clarify, while Multi Find does utilize regex internally for its functionality, it doesn't currently expose regex capabilities to users (but some wildcards characters may appear in the future). As for open-sourcing the extension, I appreciate your interest, but at this time, there are no plans to do so. However, you can manually install Multi Find by downloading the CRX file from certain websites (such as https://crx4chrome.com/ or https://www.crxsoso.com/. I hope this can help.

Review's profile picture

Ramesh BawriApr 12, 2024

My 2 year old search for the BEST Multiple Search & Highlight Extension ended with this Extension. The Best part is that the search words work across all Tabs and do not have to be typed again and again for each tab. I've tried not less than 25 similar Extensions and none gave me what this Extension does. I would recommend it to every computer user. Thanks Developer Friend; I owe you this recognition for the awesome job that you have done. Ramesh Bawri, Shillong (India)

Replier's profile picture

Vincent GrecoDeveloperApr 23, 2024

Thank you so much for your great review and recommendation! I'm thrilled to hear that Multi Find has been the solution you've been searching for. Your kind words and recognition mean a lot to me. If you ever need any assistance or have suggestions for improvement, feel free to reach out. Thanks again for your support!

Review's profile picture

Bertus van HeusdenMar 29, 2024

Generally does what it promises with a few exceptions that make it unusable for me: * Incapacitates the hotkeys Ctrl-Shift ←/→which I need all the time. * Doesn't work in non RTF text like webshop forms and Wikipedia edit pages. Normal Ctrl F does work with such forms so a fallback option isn't out of reach. * Interface disappears when web page items are selected. Also: * When focus is in a non RTF field starting Multi Find will remove the focus. * When switching between tabs (Ctrl Tab or Al... Show more

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Vincent GrecoDeveloperApr 23, 2024

Thank you for your feedback on Multi Find. I'm glad to hear that it generally meets your expectations, and I appreciate your insights into areas where improvements can be made. - Hotkeys: I cannot find shortcuts that would please everybody, but you can change them through the URL: chrome://extensions/shortcuts. - Non-RTF text: input box and textarea do not support formatting (and it is difficult to compare the features of the build-in Ctrl-F with those of an extension). This being said, I am working on a feature (still work in progress) that should make it possible. Stay tuned. - Popup disappearance: This is typical behavior for Chrome extensions. Creating a custom popup on which I would have a total control is a potential future improvement (not planned yet). - Custom colors: now available in version 1.70! Thanks again for sharing!

Review's profile picture

Vishnu VardhanMar 8, 2024

This can be a great tool. But it isn't working properly. The numbers are quite different when compared with the Cntrl+F results. If the issues are fixed this can be great a tool.

Replier's profile picture

Vincent GrecoDeveloperApr 23, 2024

Thank you for your feedback on Multi Find. I'm sorry to hear that you're encountering discrepancies between Multi Find and the native Ctrl+F function in Chrome. I suspect the extesnion is detecting words that are actually hidden on the webpage, causing false positives. Could you provide specific examples (you can also contact me through the email given in the webstore)? Your input would help me improve accuracy.

Google apps