Reviews: Modern for Wikipedia
Item logo image for Modern for Wikipedia

Modern for Wikipedia

modernwiki.app
4.6(

147 ratings

)

4.6 out of 5

147 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

doggo memeJun 11, 2024

I installed it despite putting up with the slowness, and it makes me angry that they don't remove the extremely annoying donation ads. Please explain why you don't remove the annoying donation ads. Release a version that removes the donation ads as soon as possible.

Review's profile picture

MaxJun 6, 2024

Very good. Better than expected.

Review's profile picture

Alexander HolmsleyMay 16, 2024

This extension is amazing, making Wikipedia much nicer on the eyes. The dark mode is also much better than what a general dark mode extension would make. I highly recommend it. That being said, the only flaw in the dark mode I found is that equations still have black text that looks invisible in front of the black background.

Review's profile picture

Chester WangApr 11, 2024

Better than Wikiwand which has stopped updating and has become buggy. This one is great.

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Bill FoleyMar 9, 2024

Great extension! Reading Wikipedia is easier and more enjoyable.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

serban gruianuMar 3, 2024

Best Wikipedia modernization extension. ever

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Haroon IshaqMar 3, 2024

It is an excellent extension, wikipedia is a site we come across daily but its old UI looks ugly. It makes Wikipedia look better while keeping its original atmosphere unlike wikiwand which completely changes the way wikipedia looks and feels. Wikiwand is also good but it redirects you to a different page which makes it difficult to share links. I will definitely recommend this extension to everyone.

Review's profile picture

Nick GallMar 1, 2024

I love this extension. Two minor problems: (1) the toolbar icon for the extension is almost invisible in Chrome dark mode (2) equations on Wikipedia pages ARE invisible when using the black theme; I had to switch to the gray theme.

Review's profile picture

Daniel MareFeb 29, 2024

Great improvement for Wikipedia pages. Very similar to Wikiwand from what I've seen, though Wikiwand's text to speech is a bit better, specially because you can jump between sections, but I much prefer this one for one reason: I hate the fact that Wikiwand redirects you to a different URL, so if I share or save the URL of the Wikipedia article, I'm actually sharing Wikiwand's URL rather than Wikipedia's, and it annoys me a ton. However, this is not the case with Modern for Wikipedia, so given... Show more

Review's profile picture

Tyler SnowFeb 2, 2024

Everything but the "Auto Dark Theme" option seems to work. Additionally, the front page of Wikipedia is unthemed in dark mode and sticks out like a sore thumb. If these can be fixed, the extension deserves a perfect rating.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Google apps