Reviews: Mark My Search
Item logo image for Mark My Search

Mark My Search

markmysearch.ator.systems
Featured
4.4(

12 ratings

)
ExtensionTools1,000 users

4.4 out of 5

12 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Good MorningJul 11, 2024

This extension allows you to search for occurrences of words/phrases in search results or within ANY website. It's the only extension I found on here that can do it without errors/bugs. Thank you SO MUCH for making this and keeping it free! I needed sometime like this so bad :D

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

DomDeveloperJul 11, 2024

Thank you for such a lovely review, I'm so glad it's useful!

Review's profile picture

FamKisFeb 26, 2024

Wow, "Mark My Search" is fantastic! This is by far the best approximation of SearchWP that currently exists.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Robert PellegrinoFeb 1, 2024

When you want to change an option, you are presented with a long scrolling list of checkboxes. You click a box and exit. Nothing changes. Why? Because there is a hidden "Save Changes" button that does not show up unless you scroll all the way down to the bottom of the list. Please don't hide critical functionality like this.

Replier's profile picture

DomDeveloperFeb 1, 2024

Thanks for bringing the issue to my attention. I'm sorry for the bad experience. The Options page was designed when the extension was much simpler, and I'm aware it's no longer fit for purpose, but have lacked the time to change it as a single developer. However, the new 1.15 update (not yet released) comes with many quality of life improvements including an overhaul of the Options. Please consider upgrading to 4 stars if you like the other features! Mark My Search takes a lot of work and I appreciate it a lot.

Review's profile picture

Taras TarasovSep 5, 2023

It works great. Thank you!

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Vinícius MarquesMar 27, 2023

Very interesting, congrats! I do have a few issues on Notion though besides not finding every result. Seems like Notion is capturing keystrokes when I try to edit a search word, so I ended up deleting a block instead of editing the search text. Regarding not finding every result on Notion, I was kinda expecting it not to work there to be honest, because none of the other extensions I tried worked. Anyways, not sure if it is doable, but would be nice to have it working there as well. I'm mainl... Show more

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

DomDeveloperApr 15, 2023

Thank you again for your feedback! 1.13.4 has released with keystroke improvements and a major highlighting fix, which should improve results on a lot of websites like Notion. Unfortunately, as mentioned earlier, Mark My Search is incompatible since Notion rejects almost any change made to its webpages. A fix may be available in future as a plugin, see this dashboard: https://github.com/orgs/searchmarkers/projects/1

Review's profile picture

Quy LêFeb 4, 2023

just start using it and love the features, but I hope there is an option for changing the hotkey. thank you very much.

Replier's profile picture

DomDeveloperFeb 5, 2023

Thank you, I'm glad you like it! All hotkeys can be changed or added at chrome://extensions/shortcuts (paste in the URL bar) - just scroll to "Find in current tab" under Mark My Search and press the pen button.

Review's profile picture

Lewis Dexter LitanziosNov 7, 2022

# 2022-11-08 👋 Thanks for software How does one toggle the UI or enable it again if it's closed using the UI? I think a shortcut should exist (default) or ability to replace the standard shortcut (i.e. cmd + f) Hope to hear back Sincerely # 2023-01-06 A+ email support # 2023-02-26 Just discovered it updates to find search terms with pagination (e.g. infinite scroll), which (unbelievably) none of my browsers support (e.g. Brave, Vivaldi) 🤩

3 out of 4 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

DomDeveloperFeb 26, 2023

Hi Lewis, Thanks for the review! It's good to know what should be made more clear. Alt+Shift+M activates or deactivates highlighting and UI, and Alt+Shift+D temporarily hides or shows highlights. There are lots of other shortcuts, all assignable at chrome://extensions/shortcuts. Be sure to let me know if you have any more queries. Edit: many thanks for your updated review!

Review's profile picture

Ray HoertzNov 5, 2022

Finally! Thank you developer! Absolutely love this extension, but find it completely ridiculous and a little infuriating that I had to learn about it from a reply by the Mark My Search developer to a negative comment about kinda similar (but vastly inferior) extension! Apparently Google now cares about advertising revenue so much that they are failing as a basic search engine, because I tried multiple searches to find an extension to highlight keywords in search results without ever seeing th... Show more

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

DomDeveloperNov 5, 2022

Thank you very much for the positive feedback! It's great to know that Mark My Search does something right, and isn't just an extension for me (which in a way it is since I only ever had 2 testers). I absolutely agree about Google's rubbish searching - in fact, it used to be higher in the results, but since I updated the Overview to be a lot more informative it's mysteriously gone down. Be sure to let me know if something goes wrong - critical feedback is also greatly appreciated. I read anything sent from the anonymous message box in the popup, but there are other ways to get in touch as well. Again, thank you for making my week.

Google apps