Reviews: Locus — Smart CTRL + F
Item logo image for Locus — Smart CTRL + F

Locus — Smart CTRL + F

locusextension.com
Featured
3.8(

28 ratings

)
ExtensionTools6,000 users

3.8 out of 5

28 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

MikeJun 18, 2024

lets you search THREE web pages per day. service is slow, and the idea of it is an invasion of privacy.

Replier's profile picture

Locus AIDeveloperJun 18, 2024

Hi Mike, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We understand your concerns about privacy and performance, and we appreciate the opportunity to clarify these points. Privacy: Our service allows three document searches per day without requiring an email or any registration. This design is specifically aimed at maximizing user privacy and the albeit limited use of the service without any prerequisites, surpassing many tools that require personal information even for limited access. We are committed to safeguarding our users' data with robust security measures and in accordance with our privacy policy. Performance: The speed of our service can vary depending on the size and complexity of the documents. Given that our models require significant computing resources, such as GPUs, we optimize performance within the constraints of server-side processing. We continuously work on improving this aspect and would be happy to work with you to improve your experience on the documents you have seen slowness on. Freemium Model: The tiered nature of our service is intended to provide flexibility and greater access compared to many similar platforms. By signing up with an email, users can increase their daily limit to 20 documents, and our paid plans offer even higher limits along with dedicated processing resources. This structure supports our ongoing efforts to enhance the platform, fund our infrastructure, and develop new features, all while trying to provide the best possible service to our users. We take pride in our approach and are always open to suggestions on how we can further improve. Thank you for using Locus, and we hope to better meet your expectations in the future.

Review's profile picture

Nick ChoryMay 20, 2024

Locus has made *significant* improvements since the beginning of 2024 and I'm excited to see them build momentum. I was able to easily navigate a scanned 60+ page PDF to find the relevant sections pertaining to the 3-5 topic areas that I care about. This is such a breath of fresh air compared to locating a term in a table of contents, scrolling to it, reading it, then scrolling back to the table of contents, then scrolling back to another page where the key term(s) are formally defined.

Replier's profile picture

Locus AIDeveloperJun 18, 2024

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We're thrilled to hear that the improvements we've made this year have significantly enhanced your experience with Locus. It's especially gratifying to know that our efforts to streamline navigation in large documents, like your 60+ page PDF, are making a difference. Our goal has always been to make information access as efficient and user-friendly as possible, eliminating the need for the tedious back-and-forth you described. Hearing that Locus has been a "breath of fresh air" for you is incredibly motivating for our team. We're excited to keep the momentum going and we have even more enhancements planned. Stay tuned, and please continue to share your valuable feedback with us! Thank you for choosing Locus and for your enthusiastic support.

Review's profile picture

Jonas AJan 14, 2024

lacks function to highlight just the synonyms, instead of the entire sentence

Replier's profile picture

Locus AIDeveloperJan 30, 2024

Hi Jonas , Thanks for the feedback can you connect with us on discord or email locusextn.support@locusai.co to discuss how we might be able to support your use case. Thanks!

Review's profile picture

Mark LyonsJan 11, 2024

Locus is very useful for reading and searching long documents. Keyword search is hard to remember exact match with longer documents but with locus I can just use natural language which is much easier.

Review's profile picture

SpixersDec 13, 2023

I like him a lot, he is too kind

0 out of 4 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Samir RedjemMay 8, 2023

All the page show: "Navigate to a valid page or refresh page", even if i am not on PDF! On wikipedia, it don't work too.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Locus AIDeveloperNov 10, 2023

Hi there Samir, we have made a ton of improvements in our latest version, not only can you search but also summarize an entire page or portions of it using your favorites part of the document, please consider given this another try! if you keep experiencing issues please send us a note to locusextn.support@locusai.co with some screenshots and pages you are seeing the issue.

Review's profile picture

ToxoplasmzMay 1, 2023

cant get it to work on anything it just says "Navigate to a valid page or refresh page". i followed all instructions

4 out of 4 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Locus AIDeveloperMay 15, 2023

Hi there, that seems strange, could you send us an email at locusextn.support@locusai.co with some screenshots and the wikipedia pages you are seeing the issue? Sometimes the extension needs a browser restart for it to start indexing the page you are on.

Review's profile picture

Dylan MatlinApr 26, 2023

Great potential, but until they release the PDF support it is useless for me. Will stick around to see how this evolves!

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Locus AIDeveloperAug 1, 2023

PDF Support has been released in the latest 1.3.1 version

Review's profile picture

Florence YeungApr 23, 2023

Is there a reason why it keeps telling me to "Navigate to a valid page or refresh page." rather than allowing me to search?

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Locus AIDeveloperNov 2, 2023

Hi there Florence, we have made a ton of improvements in our latest version, not only can you search but also summarize an entire page or portions of it using your favorites part of the document, please consider given this another try! if you keep experiencing issues please send us a note to locusextn.support@locusai.co with some screenshots and pages you are seeing the issue.

Review's profile picture

Jeff DavisMar 17, 2023

great potential, excited about future builds

Google apps