Reviews: Jump Cutter
Item logo image for Jump Cutter

Jump Cutter

Featured
4.7(

62 ratings

)
ExtensionEducation10,000 users

4.7 out of 5

62 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

JECJul 6, 2024

i have been testing this addon for a few days now and i can not believe how this just works flawlessly on youtube! before, i had to skip many many many times over the course of an hour long video just to hear a minute or two of actual audio. now it's all automatic and without hiccups! at first, this extension was picking up keyboard noises from the video i was watching so i had to tweak "lowest speech loudness" to 0.050 and now it's automagically skipping over silent parts, keyboard noises, ... Show more

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

В Иванов (WofWca)DeveloperJul 6, 2024

Wow, thank you for such a detailed review! 2x+ speedup? Sounds incredible! Maybe it's time to update the extension's description 😄 I'm glad you liked the tooltips also. I'm constantly worried that the UI is too convoluted and scary. ~~BTW, are you using the experimental algorithm (which was recently updated BTW 😉) or the default one? (I don't think you can reply here, but you can edit the review I guess 😀)~~ Edit: the experimental algorithm, got it! Yeah, that one can skip much more than the regular one.

Review's profile picture

Dr 3liwaMay 30, 2024

This is a lifesaver! especially when trying to stay engaged during long medical lectures. Thank you so much!

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

В Иванов (WofWca)DeveloperMay 30, 2024

Thanks for the review! Nice to know that I've also put my hand to improving healthcare, albeit very indirectly 😅

Review's profile picture

Amidst.Apr 29, 2024

Works phenomenally! here's my settings, next to perfect, try them out: Lowest speech loudness: 0.008 ▶️ Regular speed: 2.55 ⏩ Silence speed (absolute): 5.00 ⏱️⬅️ Margin before: 0.400 ⏱️➡️ Margin after: 0.400

7 out of 7 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

В Иванов (WofWca)DeveloperApr 29, 2024

2.55? Damn you're fast 😀 Thanks for the review!

Review's profile picture

Mohamed MagdyJan 9, 2024

Works

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

В Иванов (WofWca)DeveloperJan 9, 2024

Bet 😎

Review's profile picture

Jason WallsAug 29, 2023

This is absolutely phenomenal, perfect for watching unscripted YouTube webshows that have lots of pauses. My favorite use for it is for watching Critical Role - it makes watching that show 10x better and can cut out a good 10% or more of boring silence at times. If I could give the creator one suggestion, it would be to add a whitelist feature with wildcard support, so that one could make this extension only work on certain YouTube playlist urls, for example. A blacklist feature would be ni... Show more

Replier's profile picture

В Иванов (WofWca)DeveloperAug 30, 2023

Thanks for sharing the stats! I think this is a thing that we really need to get across to potential users. About the blacklist / whitelist support. It's tracked here: https://github.com/WofWca/jumpcutter/issues/26, I suggested some workarounds there as well. The wildcard thing is an interesting idea, I haven't considered that use case yet.

Review's profile picture

Nathaniel UttkeMay 2, 2023

Is there a way to download the finished shortened version? I wanted to use this for video editing to make editing vods easier.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

В Иванов (WofWca)DeveloperMay 5, 2023

Also see https://alternativeto.net/software/auto-editor/

Review's profile picture

JAYMay 1, 2023

They Say the There is No Hero... A hero is someone who does what must be done, and needs no other reason.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

В Иванов (WofWca)DeveloperMay 1, 2023

Aw man. You didn't have to say that. 🤗🫡

Review's profile picture

Mohammed TohamyMar 10, 2023

Best in the buisness

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

В Иванов (WofWca)DeveloperMar 10, 2023

😎

Review's profile picture

JiaChen ZENGFeb 9, 2023

What the hell with this extension I can cram 90 minites class into 15.5 minutes! I can't live without it now!

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

В Иванов (WofWca)DeveloperFeb 10, 2023

Solid stuff. Maybe I should nudge up the advertising claims then :) Thanks!

Review's profile picture

Nachiten RemixNov 4, 2022

Very good app. It makes me way more efficent while watching lectures. But can you please fix the videos pausing and starting again all the time when watching local videos? Thanks.

Replier's profile picture

В Иванов (WofWca)DeveloperNov 5, 2022

Thanks! This has been discussed here, on the "Support" tab (see "Video stops in between"). Consider using Firefox until that Chromium bug is fixed. If you're using the "experimental algorithm", then these pauses (caused by seeking the video) are only done when it actually saves time. Another thing you can try doing is find a lower-quality version of that video.

Google apps