Reviews: IPFS Companion
Item logo image for IPFS Companion

IPFS Companion

ipfs.tech
Featured
3.9(

48 ratings

)

3.9 out of 5

48 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Emily JohnsonFeb 20, 2024

I've been using IPFS Companion for quite a while, and I've noticed significant CPU usage that impacts my browser's performance. I switched to using DScan, a more efficient alternative. It doesn't need to run an IPFS node, significantly reducing the resource load on my system. It's also easier to manage my storage across multiple devices! https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/dscan-own-your-identity-o/idpfgkgogjjgklefnkjdpghkifbjenap

4 out of 4 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Michael LoftisFeb 6, 2023

The extension does what it says...but god knows what else it is doing. When enabled Chrome uses a whole CPU core at all times.

7 out of 7 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Paige WeberOct 27, 2022

Majorly slowed down my browser to the point that I had to remove it. While I was using it, it was nice. IPFS links worked seamlessly and I could direct it to my local IPFS node

5 out of 6 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Daniel NormanJun 29, 2022

Great way to use IPFS directly from Chrome

4 out of 5 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Radim KolářJan 3, 2022

Works good

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

ThinkronicityOct 30, 2021

NFT anyone? Ever wondered how they get to be one? Wanna be in on that? From a whole other angle? FB or IPFS? The future of one day that IPFS will be the "digital dirt" that all springs from and all has access to. Who doesn't have 50 GB of hard drive space? they would like 'cloud' accessible? No Matter What? Forever Clout IPFS Desktop version

2 out of 9 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Darik HornSep 6, 2021

This browser extension is unreliable at the few sites that try to publish through IPFS, and it misbehaves if sync'd through a profile to a browser instance that isn't backed by the the IPFS Desktop software, like on a Chromebook. The protocol itself is better described as a fancy bittorrent, and not a filesystem, because IPFS doesn't implement basic things like folders and directories, and things like IPNS are way too complex for casual users or samizdat to use safely.

3 out of 5 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Raj GadaMar 26, 2021

The WebUI is broken and never works

3 out of 5 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Partha PratimMar 4, 2021

when i updated it from github new version after that it stopted working

3 out of 5 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

MubelotixFeb 8, 2021

Great integration with Brave's implementation

2 out of 3 found this helpful
Google apps