Reviews: Holocene Epoch Timestamp
Item logo image for Holocene Epoch Timestamp

Holocene Epoch Timestamp

holocenetimestamp.org
Featured
4.2(

9 ratings

)

4.2 out of 5

9 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Ivan VillalazNov 20, 2023

It's good to be fair, but have some flaws: the years from: (11900 to 11909), (12000 to 12009), sporting seasons like: (12000-01, or 12008-09), doesn't convert well, the first decade of every century doesn't convert properly, instead remains 1900-1909, 2000-2001, also some other ancient years, milleniums, doesn't convert adequately, can you fix this please? aside form that, this is something I was looking for a while ago, good effort.

Review's profile picture

Jadi CJun 2, 2023

I have been looking for something like this. The only thing that I want to point out is that if you have something like: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ancient_Egypt Early Dynastic Period (c. 3150–2686 BC [7315 HE]) It only converts the last date. (2686 BC) You should do something that detect "3150–2686 BC", numbers that are atached with a "-". So that it converts to "6851-7315 HE". Can you please look into this, thanks.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Jan CavelDeveloperJun 2, 2023

Yes, unfortunately, it has many bugs. I initially wrote it as a learning opportunity in 2016/7. Looked recently over the code and it's a mess to say the least. The entire thing should be rewritten, eventually using some fancy new neural networks for detecting years with higher confidence. I will try to look over it.

Review's profile picture

Yuri CostaMar 29, 2022

Been looking for this for a while. Is there any way to get a spacer for the thousands? i.e. 12 022 HE rather then 12022 HE

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Jan CavelDeveloperApr 10, 2022

Good idea, thank you. I will add an options for it.

Review's profile picture

Johannes HellAug 5, 2021

I have been looking for this. Unfortunately it doesn't seem to work for other languages than English. In German 500 BC would be 500 v. Chr. The extension makes this appear as 10500 HE v.Chr. which is not exactly what I was looking for. Also sometimes it would change numbers that are not dates (e.g. "The town has 2000 [12000 HE] inhabitants.") There is a lot of potential but right now there are too many bugs for me.

Review's profile picture

Petko DichevNov 4, 2019

A great extension to be used for a great calendar adjustment

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Samuel AshcroftApr 13, 2019

Absolutely brilliant, lots of customisability, however it infrequently doesn't convert the year, e.g. it displays '2004-2007' as '2004-12007 HE' in wikipedia subheadings.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Jan CavelDeveloperJul 28, 2019

Sorry for the late reply. Yes, it's due to the fact that the current version is based on Regular Expressions so that all the computation is on your computer, the extension doesn't speak with a server and I have no access to what you are reading, and I couldn't find a good way to target that particular edge case. (JavaScript's RegExp didn't have a good lookbehind specification until very recently, and the browsers are still lagging on the implementation https://caniuse.com/#feat=js-regexp-lookbehind) There are even more bugs, especially related to 3 digits years. I postponed fixing it because I hoped I would get to implement a version based on Natural Language Processing. Alas, the day is so short. I hope I will update it soon.

Review's profile picture

Wiktor Owczarek (Tikolu)May 30, 2018

Amazing! I was searching for something like this for ages. This extension deserves for publicity than this. If you want to change the dates outside of Chrome (In Windows), you can use this tool I made: https://drive.google.com/uc?export=download&id=1Ohdpz1hLWFsG0hwmi7_1QomrhqM3R1uX

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Google apps