Reviews: Hide Google AI Overviews

5.0 out of 5

282 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Amanda CastlemanJun 20, 2024

Thank you, thank you for doing what Google refuses to: allowing users to opt out its often-incorrect and always-annoying AI Overviews, which draw from creators' works without permission or compensation. I'd been stuck using Duckduckgo to stop the madness, but I prefer Original Search Chrome. Y'all are heroes!

Review's profile picture

Lyrning !Jun 17, 2024

Dear gods, I love you soooooo much! I put in feedback saying how much I hated the Overviews with each search as they pop up. They make me do more work due to having to double check their stuff, finally just kept skipping over it (although still leaving feedback because now I had to scroll down everytime). This is SOOOOOO much better. Whew. You devs are good GOOD humans! Thank you!!!!

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

OmahaballJun 17, 2024

Google AI is full of wrong information. Thank you so much!

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Ross MorellaJun 16, 2024

disgusting google ai spam all over my searches, spouting nonsense and wrong facts while obscuring my results and just adding more to the wall of sponsored bs. maybe google will get wise, but big tech is too far up its own bum

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

ERROR404Jun 14, 2024

Please add an option to turn it off quickly. I just experienced a situation where Google seems to have detected that I'm trying to hide the AI result and hid every result on the page. I would appreciate being able to turn it off, find the search I was aiming for, and turn it back on, as the only option I have right now is uninstalling and reinstalling which is an annoyance. Great extension. I support AI but only when involvement is voluntary. I don't want people to unknowingly feed an AI, and... Show more

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

James AltesJun 13, 2024

it's fair. can't really expect much from a browser extension. it only removes the frontend code/element for the AI result from the page post-response. The AI response is still sometimes displayed before the extension is able to parse and remove it from the page. This extension doesn't prevent or disable the AI response itself. It'd be great if instead the AI function wasn't even called, as I don't want my queries and results used to develop their AI.

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Replier's profile picture

Zach BDeveloperJun 13, 2024

Thank you for your honest feedback and for highlighting an important aspect of our extension. Unfortunately, due to the way AI results are integrated directly into Google's search query, it's not possible to prevent the AI function from being called entirely. Our extension focuses on removing the AI overviews from the page as quickly as possible after they appear, ensuring a cleaner interface. Your point about the delay before the AI content disappears is well taken. We will be releasing an update soon to address the issue. Thanks again for helping us improve!

Review's profile picture

Angel SantiagoJun 13, 2024

Thank you! Wish I could give more than five stars

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Zach BDeveloperJun 13, 2024

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic support! We're delighted to hear that you're finding our extension so valuable.

Review's profile picture

Laz ManJun 12, 2024

Thank you! I am strongly against generative AI both in practice and in principle.

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Zach BDeveloperJun 13, 2024

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your stance on generative AI, and we’re glad our extension helps align your browsing experience with your principles. If you have any suggestions or need support, we're here to assist. Enjoy navigating without unwanted AI interference!

Review's profile picture

Lauren IpsumJun 12, 2024

My hero!! thank you so much for this.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Zach BDeveloperJun 13, 2024

Thank you for the kind words! We're thrilled to hear that our extension is making a positive difference for you. If you have any feedback or ideas for further improvements, please don't hesitate to share. Enjoy your clutter-free search experience!

Review's profile picture

Potato_EatMyTvJun 11, 2024

I have a group of extensions I install by default on new browsers like AdGuard, Avast, SponsorBlock, and now this. Thank you dev!!!!!

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Zach BDeveloperJun 11, 2024

Thank you so much for adding our extension to your default setup! We're thrilled to be included alongside other great tools like AdGuard and SponsorBlock. Enjoy your clutter-free searches!

Google apps