Reviews: Give Freely: You Save, We Give, Charities Win
Item logo image for Give Freely: You Save, We Give, Charities Win

Give Freely: You Save, We Give, Charities Win

givefreely.com
4.7(

45 ratings

)

4.7 out of 5

45 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Ray SchwartzMay 24, 2024

I think this looks dangerous for privacy and security.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Stephen KauferDeveloperMay 24, 2024

Hi Ray, We are super careful not to do anything that would be thought of as invading your privacy or security. While I can appreciate your concern, we don't store browsing history, we don't ask for any personal information other than your name and email and favorite charity, and we never sell any information about our users to anyone. We're a mission driven company looking to replace Amazon Smile with a product that works on 10's of thousands of stores, not just Amazon, and hope to generate hundreds of millions in charitable donations. To be super clear, we do track what goes on with the extension, in order to debug it when we have a problem, but we never tie that info to individual users. And the only time that we do tie actions to individual uses is when they buy something, as we need to make sure the commission from the store goes to the charity that user designated. And even then, we don't know what you bought, just that you bought something that earned a commission that we are donating to your favorite charity. Feel free to visit our website and contact us if I can explain anything more. The good news is that there isn't anything to worry about, and you should feel very comfortable installing the extension and supporting your favorite cause. We're honorable entrepreneurs; feel free to check us out online and look at our reputations!

Review's profile picture

selph donMay 7, 2024

I LOVE IT

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Andrew GrochalApr 26, 2024

Love the concept - amazing way to help support causes I care about. Downloaded the extension, easy to implement and already working for me.

2 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Sanjay VakilApr 24, 2024

This is really cool idea, which reminds me of the (now cancelled!!) Amazon Smile program. Simply by having a small extension installed, a fraction of the purchases you make will go to your favorite charities. It is an easy way to help groups in your life with very low effort. Thumbs down for Amazon cancelling Smile. Thumbs UP for Give Freely creating a better, easier, and expanded version!

3 out of 4 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Eric HellmanApr 23, 2024

The privacy policy for this extension contradicts the privacy and security assurances given in the description. This extension can read and change all of the web pages you visit, including banking and commerce sites. This extension installs the Sentry.io application monitoring software which, when installed by an extension, monitors vastly more than is needed for the advertised funtions of the extesion. I strongly recommend not using Give Freely.

6 out of 8 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Stephen KauferDeveloperMay 24, 2024

HI Eric, You are correct that we use Sentry.io to monitor the application, as we want it to run correctly, and when there is a bug, we want to see what happened. The key point though, is that Sentry only stores info when there is a bug (it does NOT record all of your activity). Phrased differently, if someone broke into our system, they wouldn't be able to work backwards, using any data from Sentry.io or anything else, to be able to track down your browsing behavior. To your point about reading and changing any web page... yes, that is something tons of extensions can do. However, we only use these privileges to apply coupons on your behalf, highlight partner stores in the Google search results, and some other harmless functionality that is part of what the extension does: save you money and generate commissions that go to your favorite cause. To be super clear, we do track when you buy something, as we need to make sure the commission from the store goes to the charity that you designated. But even then, we don't know what you bought, just that you bought something that earned a commission that we are donating to your favorite charity. Feel free to visit our website and contact us if I can explain anything more. I hope this explanation will make you comfortable installing the extension and supporting your favorite cause. We're honorable entrepreneurs; feel free to check us out online and look at our reputations!

Review's profile picture

Alisha MarketerApr 3, 2024

From my experience with the extension, I can attest to its effectiveness and advantages

0 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Bicky ExpertApr 3, 2024

The extension has proven to be quite helpful and advantageous in my experience.

0 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Rube RubeApr 3, 2024

I've found the extension to be a valuable tool, offering considerable benefits in my usage.

0 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Heritage Fx2Apr 3, 2024

My experience with the extension has been positive, as it has been notably beneficial.

0 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

SpringfielderApr 3, 2024

Since I started using the extension, I've found it to be quite effective and advantageous.

0 out of 3 found this helpful
Google apps