Reviews: Ghostery Tracker & Ad Blocker - Privacy AdBlock
Item logo image for Ghostery Tracker & Ad Blocker - Privacy AdBlock

Ghostery Tracker & Ad Blocker - Privacy AdBlock

www.ghostery.com
Featured
4.6(

13K ratings

)

4.6 out of 5

13K ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Andre Michael PietroschekJun 14, 2024

June 14th, 2024: Ghostery remains a wonderful addition to Greenguard or STANDS ad-blockers, both able to also handle Youtube BS, and as well an addition to PRIVACY BADGER! Kudos. Bonus: Completely restarting the browser can help on tricky computers or less common browsers.

Review's profile picture

ArjansJun 12, 2024

Loved the extension for several years, but for some websites it was required to turn ghostery off. but since new update, that is not possible anymore - unless disabling the extension via chrome itself :( Please bring back the button to pause Ghostery...

5 out of 7 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Ghostery Privacy AdblockerDeveloperJun 13, 2024

Hi there, We hear you and are aware of your dissatisfaction! We work to bring back most of the features, some in a different format. Please mind that the extension redesign was enforced by Google Chrome Manifest V3 with a hard deadline beginning of June 2024. This is a new set of specifications for browser extensions that limit the functionality and performance of ad blockers in Chromium browsers like Chrome, Edge, Opera, and Vivaldi. For any concerns, please reach out to support@ghostery.com. You can find further details here: https://www.ghostery.com/blog/future-of-ad-blockers-adblocker-stopped-working https://developer.chrome.com/docs/extensions/develop/migrate/mv2-deprecation-timeline Next extension version already addresses the missing functionality of pausing Ghostery when needed. Best, Ghostery Team

Review's profile picture

Joe FishJun 12, 2024

Ah broken extension , just happens to be a hot corrupt election year and much dissent going on, got it.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Ghostery Privacy AdblockerDeveloperJun 12, 2024

Hi there, Thanks for reaching out! Ghostery is committed to protecting your privacy! Please reach out to support@ghostery.com with more details on how exactly the extension is broken for you. We would be happy to help fix the issue you are experiencing! Best, Ghostery Team

Review's profile picture

MeaxisJun 11, 2024

Awesome new update. My extension broke so I reinstalled to get the update and wow! This is beautiful. Ghostery needed the redesign after all these years and this is done expertly. Bravo!

7 out of 7 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Ghostery Privacy AdblockerDeveloperJun 12, 2024

Many thanks for your review! 💙 We're happy to be of service and help protect your privacy online! Best, Ghostery Team

Review's profile picture

TSoul13Jun 10, 2024

it's not allowing me to turn advertisement off or on. It was off and I turned it on, but now I can't turn it off anymore and it's ruined my computer completely. give my control back, I did not consent to this abuse of power. I want my control back, I want my control over this extension back. who's responsible for this abuse. I'm currently having a panic attack. whoever is responsible for this deserves to meet an ugly end.

3 out of 5 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Ghostery Privacy AdblockerDeveloperJun 11, 2024

Hi there, We are aware of your dissatisfaction and we try to bring back most of the features, some in a different format. Please mind that the extension redesign was enforced by Google Chrome Manifest V3, a new set of specifications for browser extensions that will limit the functionality and performance of ad blockers in Chromium browsers like Chrome, Edge, Opera, and Vivaldi. For any concerns, please reach out to support@ghostery.com. Here you can find further details:: https://www.ghostery.com/blog/future-of-ad-blockers-adblocker-stopped-working Please update to the latest extension version, which already addressed the issue of turning the ad block module on/off. Best, Ghostery Team

Review's profile picture

Michael ValensisJun 10, 2024

It's mindboggling that anyone could think it was a good idea to completely cripple the extension in this way. It's utter garbage now. Absolutely terrible update. Hard to believe, honestly. I'm uninstalling it.

4 out of 5 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Ghostery Privacy AdblockerDeveloperJun 11, 2024

Hi there, We are aware of your dissatisfaction and we try to bring back most of the features, some in a different form. Please mind that the extension redesign was enforced by Google Chrome Manifest V3, a new set of specifications for browser extensions that will limit the functionality and performance of ad blockers in Chromium browsers like Chrome, Edge, Opera, and Vivaldi For any concerns, please reach out to support@ghostery.com. Here you can find further details on the topic you mentioned: https://www.ghostery.com/blog/future-of-ad-blockers-adblocker-stopped-working Best, Ghostery Team

Review's profile picture

Patrick ParkerJun 9, 2024

Broken. "The extension failed to load properly. It might not be able to intercept network requests"

6 out of 7 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Ghostery Privacy AdblockerDeveloperJun 11, 2024

Hi there, Thanks for reaching out! We had this report twice since the Ghostery 10 update but we are not able to reproduce for the time being. Please reach out to support@ghostery.com with more details, we would be more than happy to look into it, provided with more details. Thanks & best, Ghostery Team

Review's profile picture

Jan ShimJun 9, 2024

Started getting "The extension failed to load properly. It might not be able to intercept network requests." a few days ago.

6 out of 7 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Ghostery Privacy AdblockerDeveloperJun 11, 2024

Hi there, Thanks for reaching out! We had this report twice since the Ghostery 10 update but we are not able to reproduce for the time being. Please reach out to support@ghostery.com with more details, we would be more than happy to look into it, provided with more details. Thanks & best, Ghostery Team

Review's profile picture

JakubJun 9, 2024

Was fairly happy with Ghostery before (4/5 stars) but as everyone else mentioned - it is pointless to use after recent update. Most of the trackers are not blocked any more by default. Users probably don't even know that after recent changes they ARE tracked because Ghostery ignored previous settings and lots of trackers/etc are allowed now. Social media popups/widgets on websites are not blocked any more despite setting Ghostery to do so (seen with Disqus) On top of that, they introduced "A... Show more

7 out of 7 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Ghostery Privacy AdblockerDeveloperJun 11, 2024

Hi there, We are aware of your dissatisfaction and work to bring back most of the features, some in a different form than you have been used to. Please mind that the extension redesign was enforced by Google Chrome Manifest V3 with a hard deadline beginning of June 2024. This is a new set of specifications for browser extensions that limit the functionality and performance of ad blockers in Chromium browsers like Chrome, Edge, Opera, and Vivaldi. Here you can find further details: https://www.ghostery.com/blog/future-of-ad-blockers-adblocker-stopped-working https://developer.chrome.com/docs/extensions/develop/migrate/mv2-deprecation-timeline For any concerns, please reach out to support@ghostery.com. Best, Ghostery Team

Review's profile picture

Omer GazitJun 9, 2024

Junk since the update

6 out of 6 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Ghostery Privacy AdblockerDeveloperJun 11, 2024

Hi there, We are aware of your dissatisfaction and try to bring back most of the features, some in a different format. Please mind that the extension redesign was enforced by Google Chrome Manifest V3, a new set of specifications for browser extensions that limit the functionality and performance of ad blockers in Chromium browsers like Chrome, Edge, Opera, and Vivaldi. For any concerns, please reach out to support@ghostery.com. Here you can find further details: https://www.ghostery.com/blog/future-of-ad-blockers-adblocker-stopped-working Best, Ghostery Team

Google apps