Reviews: Free Google Maps Timeline Export to Excel

4.7 out of 5

31 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Adrian MartinezJul 19, 2024

Amazing and free, thanks! Worked for me.

Review's profile picture

Jan VeitchMay 17, 2024

As Chris noted on April 7, 2024. This was a GREAT tool, until Google changed timeline data storage. This tool now cannot access the data using a browser. FYI, you can still download the data using Google Takeout, but this extension cannot use that data. Hopefully the developer can allow it to use the downloaded timeline JSON.

5 out of 5 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Márk FazekasDeveloperJun 10, 2024

Dear Jan, Thank you for your feedback. You can still download the data using Google Takeout, but the extension currently cannot use that data. In the meantime, let me recommend a great company specializing in timeline export. https://www.mileagewise.com/google-timeline-export-to-mileage-log/ It will help you manage and utilize your timeline data more effectively. Best regards. Mark

Review's profile picture

ChrisApr 7, 2024

This was an incredible tool until Google's recent Timeline update which migrated all Timeline data to user devices. Since there is no longer a Timeline web interface, this extension no longer has a cache to draw data from. I wonder if the developer of this extension would be able to develop an app which can draw Timeline data now stored on user devices. Alternatively, I wonder if they could modify this extension so that users can drag and drop a Timeline JSON file exported using Takeout. I ... Show more

5 out of 5 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Márk FazekasDeveloperJun 10, 2024

Dear Chris, Thank you for your feedback. You can still download the data using Google Takeout, but the extension currently cannot use that data. In the meantime, let me recommend a great company specializing in timeline export. https://www.mileagewise.com/google-timeline-export-to-mileage-log/ It will help you manage and utilize your timeline data more effectively. With MileageWise, you can export in Excel and CSV format, too. Best regards. Mark

Review's profile picture

Kayla MarshallApr 4, 2024

Someone is terrible about keeping mileage logs. I'm not going to say who. Anyway, I needed to find the dates we went to our rental house to do repairs so I could calculate our business mileage for taxes. This tool is perfect and let me search for the address and get a list of dates. I can now go to timeline and figure out which other stops (e.g., hardware store) on that date are related! This is so much better than clicking each date on the timeline! Love it!

Replier's profile picture

Márk FazekasDeveloperJun 10, 2024

Dear Kayla, Google changed the timeline data storage method, which now prevents browser access. Although you can still download your data using Google Takeout, the extension is unable to process this data directly. In the meantime, I recommend https://www.mileagewise.com/ , which specializes in timeline exports. Hopefully, this can help you track your business mileage for taxes. Regards, Mark

Review's profile picture

Russell Hodder (Rusty)Mar 6, 2024

This is by far the GREATEST tool for getting USEFUL data out of google maps timeline for tax purposes. Thank you so much for creating this, and thank you even more for making it free. There are a TON of sub par programs/extensions out there that charge an arm and a leg to use it. As a programmer I salute you sir! You truly have made the world a better place with this extension. Thank you!

Replier's profile picture

Márk FazekasDeveloperJun 10, 2024

Dear Rusty, Thank you so much for your enthusiastic feedback! I'm thrilled to hear that you find this tool to be the greatest for extracting valuable data from Google Maps Timeline for tax purposes. Unfortunately, Google changed the timeline data storage method, so the extension cannot process this data directly. I recommend you try out MileageWise to track your business miles. Regards, Mark

Review's profile picture

John WightonJan 24, 2024

It listed the current months travel but any attempt to change the date range resulted in - well nothing. The January trips stayed on the screen. Exportign to PDF or Excel gave only Jan travel. Tried in Chrome on WIn 7 and 10. Shame as it could have been useful.

5 out of 5 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Ha Duy DungJan 4, 2024

I try to use the app but maybe it is not accurate. Example: Distance value on the app is 10.133 miles but on Google Map show 11.3 mile.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Gordon MacgillDec 24, 2023

Love this extension. Thank you for developing something that reduced my mileage tracking efforts from hours to minutes!!

Review's profile picture

Bansari NayakNov 21, 2023

It's a great extension if you drive a lot. Helps me to keep track of my KMs to expense it.

Review's profile picture

Ülo KukkJul 19, 2023

It is very easy and convenient to use, Google Maps data can be extracted in various formats

Google apps