Reviews: FocusMe
Item logo image for FocusMe

FocusMe

focusme.com
3.5(

13 ratings

)

3.5 out of 5

13 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Daniel RetamalMay 17, 2024

Useless extension.

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Replier's profile picture

Jon RumensDeveloperMay 17, 2024

Hi Daniel, sorry to hear you've not had any success with our extension. Could you provide any more detail, please? Do you have our desktop app installed?

Review's profile picture

NilakshaSep 5, 2023

I have used the mobile app and its wondeful. But the extension for some reason doesnt open for me on Chrome?!! IDK why all of my other extensions do just fine. I have removed and reinstalled but no luck

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Jon RumensDeveloperMay 17, 2024

Hi Nilaksha, sorry to hear that. Our extension just runs in the background communicating with our desktop app. There is nothing really that you can open within the extension. Are you experiencing an error of some kind?

Review's profile picture

Richard LeeDec 12, 2022

Lost many saved tabs I made the mistake of leaving open many tabs that I wanted to go back to later. FocusMe blocked and essentially deleted those pages with no way to restore them or know what was there previously. Pages of Tweets and YT videos that weren't for wasting time but for actual work and study were all gone bc of the blanket Social Media filter I turned on. I regret it terribly.

Replier's profile picture

Jon RumensDeveloperDec 12, 2022

Hi Richard, we are very sorry to hear about that. Do you have those pages that you had visited in your browser history that you can get the links from? We are planning to add in future a page listing all the blocks that have occurred, which might help in restoring the pages that you didn't want blocked. Apart from this, we could check your log file for the details, but only if you had the logging feature turned on. Could you please reach out to our support so we can try to assist you further? Thanks -Jon

Review's profile picture

Ashby MammenJun 12, 2022

I'd give it a higher start than 4, but it frequently shows pop-ups that my chrome browser needs the add-on installed to continue using it, but it already has the add-on! And it counts down, but doesn't do anything. It's just there being kinda annoying and opening the chrome addon page sporadically on me.

Replier's profile picture

Jon RumensDeveloperDec 12, 2022

Hi Ashby, sorry for the late follow up! We believe this is fixed now though. Could you please reach out to our support so we can check this with you?

Review's profile picture

Carlos AnguloJan 24, 2022

Great app ! Keep improving it!

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Matchstick DollyFeb 6, 2020

I like this app (a lot, in fact). I use it daily and keep it up-to-date. Unfortunately, the setting that is "allow time to type URL in browser" should be customizable, or there should be a way to have the app ignore URL typing altogether, because FocusMe is VERY bad about assuming I'm going to a blocked website when auto-completion is occurring in Chrome's address bar. For example, I block Discord during my word day. I also am a writer who uses a custom search for a dictionary (d <search te... Show more

8 out of 8 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Jon RumensDeveloperApr 3, 2020

Hi, sorry it took a little time, but we have just fixed this issue now! Please can you contact me (ask for Jon) so I can send you the download link? https://focusme.com/support/

Review's profile picture

frootloop ediblesJan 31, 2020

The application itself is worth the buy. Fantastic features, it's a knock out. But this thing? The extension? MMMMMMMMMMNo. It doesn't really do anything. Supposed to track your URL, but I don't see evidence of communication with the app, and I don't get anything out of the extension that I don't get out of simply using the app. I don't even understand why this really exists, it's just...there.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Jon RumensDeveloperMar 31, 2020

Hi, we added this to the description which I hope explains things: "The extension is recommended for users' of FocusMe desktop application to improve URL detection. It's not strictly required as the application has other methods to obtain the URL which generally work very well, but using the addon can improve accuracy and speed of URL detection on some systems."

Review's profile picture

Mason MaxeyOct 30, 2019

Works like a charm to block all my social medias as well as any NSFW content. very pleased.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Jon RumensDeveloperMar 31, 2020

Thank you Mason! p.s. I answered your question above about the chrome extension.

Review's profile picture

Mcquillan MoyoSep 4, 2019

Its the best application to help you focus and block unnecessary time wasting websites.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Jon RumensDeveloperMar 31, 2020

Thanks so much! :)

Review's profile picture

Rohan DayanandAug 5, 2019

This app beats all the other Pomodoro focus and website/app blocking apps as it truly blocks your computer. Ensure you also download the desktop app for it to work.

6 out of 6 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Jon RumensDeveloperMar 31, 2020

Thanks so much Rohan! To answer Boris and Mason who replied to your review, we have submitted this change to the extension description: "The extension is recommended for users' of FocusMe desktop application to improve URL detection. It's not strictly required as the application has other methods to obtain the URL which generally work very well, but using the addon can improve accuracy and speed of URL detection on some systems."

Google apps