Reviews: EXIF Viewer Pro
Item logo image for EXIF Viewer Pro

EXIF Viewer Pro

exifviewers.com
Featured
3.4(

464 ratings

)

3.4 out of 5

464 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Sean SMay 4, 2024

Found out this was injecting GA on EVERY PAGE, with no way to disable, after trying to figure out why my own web app was trying to load a GA tracking gif despite me definitely not putting it there. Was disappointed to find out the source - this extension is supposed to be for examining images, it has no business injecting tracking code into every page I visit by default. If you want to add it to the page when I interact with the extension, that's one thing, but injecting it on every page indi... Show more

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Radio SilenceDec 14, 2023

Careful! this extension is poorly implemented. Can take about 20% of your CPU. Also, lame GA tracking implementation: tracks way more than needed.

3 out of 4 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Aruna JDeveloperDec 15, 2023

Sorry, about your GA concerns! But, we are absolutely not touching any personal data, instead extensions's related events only in order to monitor its functionality, like which feature is working or not. It's a very complicated software and yet working decently since 2010, with limited resources. FYI, most (90%, 40M websites/apps/extensions) professionally crafted softwares or apps definitely includes GA to track its only events, else its impossible to understand what is going on with them. When most of our daily websites/apps (gmail, youtube, facebook, twitter, insta, whatsapp, etc.) are tracking both app events and user's data, behavior since decades, but I don't understand your specific concerns just on this extension, that too it's own basic events, please explain and help us understand. I hope you understand these aspects and support us further. If any issues, please report us so we can fix it, but DO NOT give bad ratings without understanding all aspects and before even getting the response! I hope you update the better ratings and reviews as it deserves a better one. It may take extra CPU cycles because this extension needs to process photos in order to get you the EXIF data. Powerful apps or extensions does demand extra CPU power. I am not sure why it is not issues to you when this is not a concern to 100,000+ users since 2010. Lastly, in the next update of this extension, we will give a configurable option to enable/disable GA tracking, and hope it resolves your concerns. Thanks once again!

Review's profile picture

David GesselAug 8, 2023

It injects google analytics code that includes the full URL of the page visited. What the motivation of the developer is to track every user's every page visited is, whether nefarious or curiosity or just data aggregation is pure speculation, but the call: https://ssl.google-analytics.com/__utm.gif?utmwv=5.7.2&utms=21&utmn=1846634066&utmhn=gessel.blackrosetech.com&utmt=event&utme=5(Bk101ExifAndrey243*NotifUI*msgForNotifsURLs%20is%20EMPTY)&utmcs=UTF-8&utmsr=1548x1313&utmvp=1530x1309&utmsc=24... Show more

12 out of 13 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Aruna JDeveloperDec 15, 2023

As explained above, we have absolutely no interest in reading or tracking any user's data, but only extensions's event to monitor its health and features. In the complex world of unreliable internet connections, frequent browser updates, and other complications, it is necessary to track and check what is happening inside the extension to better serve the users. Regarding that GA tracking URL, as it is very clear, it is just tracking whether a notification was sent or not! This notification feature is used to report any backend issues and update users about new features or uncertain events. This is no different than 100s or 1000s of daily notification alerts we received both on our mobile apps and on websites, and please explain me why you think it is bad and how it is hurting your's or extensions's experience? As per same privacy page, we may add or remove necessary events to track around this extension, there are literally 100s of features inside this extension and we are responsible to monitor, check and ensure everything is working as expected. If not via GA, how else we can do this? Please explain! It has been working decently since 2010 for 150,000 users globally and no major concerns to 99% users. I still respect your opinion, and you have an option to not use this extension or find alternatives if this is your primary concerns. I hope you update the better ratings and reviews as it deserves a better one. Lastly, in the next update of this extension, we will give a configurable option to enable/disable GA tracking, and hope it resolves your concerns.

Review's profile picture

Tom BNov 22, 2022

DO NOT INSTALL They secretly added Google Analytics tracking that *tracks every page you visit*. Their "privacy policy" claims they do not do this. This is illegal under GDPR so any EU citizen using this Extension could file a complaint against them.

18 out of 20 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Aruna JDeveloperJan 8, 2023

You seem to spread false allegation on this highly reputable and valuable extension!! 1. This extension is clearly reviewed by Chrome team and approve 2. There is nothing called "secret" here, as it is not getting injected separately. It is part the code itself. 3. Almost, millions of sites, including Gmail/GDrive/Youtube/Facebook/Twitter many are tracking various events of the app to monitor its health and performance. 4. As per app spec, it supposed to work in every page as it may contain photos to display exif data, hence it inspects each page 5. This is only tracking app relevant events, and definitely not your private details. So, no question of privacy here. 6. As per GDPR, data must be related to person, in this case, there is nothing! You are welcome to prove! 7. Before complaining, prove me with data and details! 8. You have an option to find other alternate extensions (though none) and use it 9. Based on your tone of statements, you seem to have bad intention on this extension. It has taken 10+ years of development and maintenance efforts on this extension, so have some basic professionalism and ethics to get issues resolved, rather than leaving negative comments and 1* ratings!

Review's profile picture

Percy (Percy)Nov 1, 2022

Tracks every site visit using Google Analytics!

6 out of 6 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Aruna JDeveloperDec 15, 2023

As explain very clearly above, this extension is meant for every website where there is a photo and then let you get EXIF information about. It has been the fundamental and base feature since day 1 (2010), and GA tracking has some purpose to check all its feature and ensure all working. Lastly, in the next update of this extension, we will give a configurable option to enable/disable GA tracking, and hope it resolves your concerns.

Review's profile picture

Chris RichterOct 14, 2022

DOES NOT WORK! Other reviewers say the same exact thing. Maybe this worked at one point but it no longer works now. Very frustrating. I rarely write reviews but I wanted to warn anyone thinking about downloading and installing this to their chrome browser - don't do it. It's a complete waste of time. Sorry to burst your bubble but it doesn't work. I wrote this on 10/14/22. Thanks!

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

John PravusJul 19, 2022

Doesn't seem to work, at all.

4 out of 4 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Cx FilesAug 3, 2021

Has google analytics that tracks EVERY single page you visit. Reported.

9 out of 9 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Aruna JDeveloperDec 15, 2023

As explain very clearly above, this extension is meant for every website where there is a photo and then let you get EXIF information about. It has been the fundamental and base feature since day 1 (2010), and GA tracking has some purpose to check all its feature and ensure all working. Lastly, in the next update of this extension, we will give a configurable option to enable/disable GA tracking, and hope it resolves your concerns.

Review's profile picture

Queen Anne's RevengeApr 6, 2021

Does not work and many of the 5 star reviews are obviously fake.

6 out of 7 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Hao Peng (Personal)Mar 10, 2021

Very high cpu usage for no clear reasons. Disabled and CPU usage went down immediately. This does not always happen but I have no clue what would trigger high CPU usage. So I just turn it on when necessary, which is rare.

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Aruna JDeveloperDec 15, 2023

It may take extra CPU cycles because this extension needs to process photos in order to get you the EXIF data. Powerful apps or extensions does demand extra CPU power. I am not sure why it is not issues to you when this is not a concern to 100,000+ users since 2010. Anyway, I will work on this issue and try to fix it in the next release.

Google apps