Reviews: Ecosia Dark Mode
Item logo image for Ecosia Dark Mode

Ecosia Dark Mode

Featured
4.5(

21 ratings

)

4.5 out of 5

21 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Ailein Joy CortezJul 29, 2022

Among all the the Ecosia dark modes I tried and installed, this is my favorite!

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Review's profile picture

Julian JägerJun 28, 2022

The Dark Mode looks really good. However it really bothers me that it also changes the New Tab page. I can see people liking that however I'd rather have the choice to turn the New Tab page changes off. Until that is possible I'm using a different extension (sadly with a worse dark mode) that doesn't affect the New Tab page.

Replier's profile picture

FocusOnTheSunDeveloperJul 18, 2022

Thanks for the review! I originally investigated this over a year ago, and concluded it was not possible. I researched this again today however, and have managed to find a way to implement this. This new version is being uploaded to the Chrome store as I type this, so when you read this, check the extension options by clicking on the extension icon, and you can turn off the newtab! Happy searching!

Review's profile picture

Eva OppitzJun 9, 2022

This is just perfect. I use ecosia every day, but I don't like the light design, so this was exactly what I was looking for. Thank you!

Review's profile picture

Nils HollandFeb 26, 2022

It does what it's supposed to and more. The latter is actually not what I want. It also controls the New Tab page which is a dark page by default and thereby removes the links to the most viewed websites. I'd wish for an option to disables that behaviour and just keep the dark ecosia searches.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

FocusOnTheSunDeveloperFeb 28, 2022

Thanks for the review! I would've preferred not to override the new tab page, but unfortunately there was a fair few complaints that the newtab page for the Ecosia Search Engine extension was in light mode, and the search engine was dark. When you install this in Chrome, you get an option to keep the new tab page, or revert back to what you previously had - so if you'd prefer the Ecosia default one, then uninstall, and re-install the extension and it should give the option to remove it! As for most-visited sites, it should show your most visited sites, but it appears that it can only track that from the point of installation, rather than retrospectively - so it may just take a few days or weeks of usage to rebuild that information. I have previously looked at an option to disable the newtab page, but had little luck due to the Chrome API - I'll take a look again and see what I can do! Thanks!

Review's profile picture

Quinton HJan 22, 2022

Great extension and perfect for privacy. I wanted to switch to Ecosia but really prefer a dark since it doesn't hurt the eyes as much. The other I found had a legal brief on the privacy policy that seemed to remove the point I was switching search engines for, as opposed to maybe 3 paragraphs total here. Thanks for doing it right

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Spencer FeehanOct 7, 2021

I really like this extension, much more than the other one. My only critique is that I wish pages you have already been to would change color. Much like how on light mode pages you have been to go from a blue link to purple, I wish something like that was available on this dark mode. Other than that it is just what I am looking for!

4 out of 4 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

FocusOnTheSunDeveloperOct 14, 2021

This extension has now been updated with your suggestion! Thanks for using the extension :)

Review's profile picture

Ashan BalaJul 13, 2021

Great! works with ecosia, nice and clean. Deserves more credit. :)

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Raul Arbeloa SJun 14, 2021

Thanks for working on this, feels way nicer in my eyes.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Moksh RoyApr 27, 2021

I like this dark mode better than the other which was kinda navy blue. This one is so much better. However I also found a minor bug whenever I switch on personalised ads the default remains in dark mode but the next thing you search on the browser would be in light mode. Switching it off would result back to normalcy i.e dark mode

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

FocusOnTheSunDeveloperApr 28, 2021

Thanks for the review! :) So that I can fix this issue, could you let me know how to switch on personalized adverts? Click 'Contact the Developer' on the overview page if you'd rather send the details that way. I looked up personalized adverts, and apparently its a feature Ecosia are rolling out to a limited number of users - so I may struggle to fix this one without assistance as I'm not sure that I have this feature!

Review's profile picture

Alessandro FaraMar 22, 2021

It's very good but there is a bug that let half the screen to be in light mode, very annoying, can't use the extension. I'm on a 16:9 1080p screen. EDIT 31/03/2021 Now it's fixed on the main page, in "image", video etc.. section now is not half white anymore, but all white (vanilla mode). Now is not annoying anymore. I wait the full fix for the 5 stars!

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

FocusOnTheSunDeveloperApr 6, 2021

Hi once again! I've tried to add what I hope will be a permanent fix for this issue. It's very difficult for me to see if it's fixed or not as I see this issue maybe once or twice in a month... There is a small chance that this fix has made it worse - but I hope not! Please let me know if this has fixed the issue or not for you. If it has made the situation worse then I will undo this change :) Thanks!

Google apps