Reviews: Duolingo Ninja
Item logo image for Duolingo Ninja

Duolingo Ninja

duolingoninja.com
4.0(

14 ratings

)

4 out of 5

14 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Rabbi LinderJun 21, 2024

Hi! I am logged into duolingo and when I press the icon for duolingo ninja it just tells me to press settings to sync, but nothing happens ... ?

Replier's profile picture

Meelis OjasildDeveloperJun 26, 2024

Hi. Please write straight to support in case there's an issue. It's hard to tell from this description only what might have been the issue.

Review's profile picture

Greg NelsonJun 20, 2024

My new favourite tool! I am using the DL Ninja to compliment my learning of French. I personally use it with Reddit posts (like AITA) to vastly increase my exposure of French words day-to-day. This has definitely made a huge difference in being able to quickly identify and integrate new French words into my vocabulary in a way that doesn't feel like work.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Meelis OjasildDeveloperJun 26, 2024

Happy to hear that :)

Review's profile picture

Keith IanMay 26, 2024

Unfortunately, maybe to no fault of the developer, this didn't work for me at all. I followed the instruction to choose Spanish (a tree I finished), clicked on the link, the button appeared, but when I click on it, all it says is "Couldn't find the list of words and translations. Please refresh the page and try again." If I refresh the page and do the same thing, the same message appears no matter how many times I try. I tried all 3 download options (new, overwrite, etc.), but same issue. Thi... Show more

Replier's profile picture

Meelis OjasildDeveloperMay 29, 2024

I tested both with Chrome and Edge (via Chrome Store) and didn't see any problems with getting the words. There are issues with getting the words via the Edge Extension Store though. Via Chrome Store everything should work. Please send a bug request via the extension/website if you'd like me to take a closer look.

Review's profile picture

Hope VantoMay 14, 2024

I have imported my German vocab but it is not syncing to duolingo ninja

Replier's profile picture

Meelis OjasildDeveloperMay 18, 2024

Hey. Could you please clarify what exactly you meant? If you imported your German vocabulary this means by definition that it was synced... There used to be an easier way to "sync" but Duolingo doesn't support it anymore unfortunately.

Review's profile picture

BobertFeb 22, 2024

So far I like the app, but I've seen someone else said that Duolingo doesn't have enough data for a language, so which languages do you guys have (besides spanish)

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Meelis OjasildDeveloperFeb 23, 2024

Thanks, Robert :) Yeah, tbh, it's not possible to get fluent with Duolingo alone. You need probably around 50-100x more input per day than Duolingo gives you. Duolingo Ninja helps you get closer to that through the translation while browsing feature tho. However, if you're on the intermediate level, then you might want to check out something like LingoChampion.com - that's focused on native speaker texts and videos.

Review's profile picture

Chris SpencerFeb 19, 2024

Doesn't work at all. I only installed this extension because it said it could download all my vocab words. I can view my list of vocab words in the DL site/app under the "Practice Words" section, so I could write a script to scrape this data myself, but I thought I'd try this extension. It's only a "free trial", and I don't mind paying for something, but it said it could download the vocab list, yet when I select the language, it gives me the error "Duolingo does not provide a vocab list for ... Show more

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Replier's profile picture

Meelis OjasildDeveloperFeb 19, 2024

Hi Chris, My guess is that you tried to get the words for Japanese - unfortunately, that's the only language where it's not possible to get any data from Duolingo at the moment. Duolingo may list the words for a course in their app. But by getting the words I mean also the meta information, not just a bare list of words and their translations. Hope this clarifies things a bit. PS: I'll take another look into what could be done about Japanese.

Review's profile picture

Nik ThomsonFeb 18, 2024

Loving this, Duo is useful but you need more and this extension breaks out and spreads across all your online activity. I'm enjoying the flash cards as well as they add to the variety. At the price point this app is set at it is a no brainer to go to the paid version, thank you Meelis

Replier's profile picture

Meelis OjasildDeveloperFeb 19, 2024

Hi Nik, Thank you for the review :)

Review's profile picture

Hrishikesh ApteJan 4, 2024

Duolingo Ninja is an Awesome Extension available for free for Chrome. This Extension provides you with all the words you've learnt on Duolingo. The Extension also provides a Website Translation feature in which it automatically detects the words you've learnt on Duolingo and translates them on the website to the language you're learning. This feature helps you build your Base even more stronger as it helps you to revise some past words which you probably might have forgotten! I would surely ... Show more

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

KyleDec 10, 2023

This is a fantastic extension, why it's not used by more people, I'll never know. I would like if there was a lifetime purchase price however instead of a monthly cost but I respect the hustle.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Meelis OjasildDeveloperDec 16, 2023

Thank you so much :) Lifetime purchase price is a great idea. However, I can't guarantee that Duolingo keeps providing access to their data, so, I don't want to make long term promises there atm.

Review's profile picture

Clarence ChiefOct 26, 2023

japanese (and some languages) not working, but this extenison works with all languages (not only english like in duolingo) Reply to your reply : Thank you for replying me, I already used recently another extension where exactly there you can download vocabulary in txt file and I want to say Japanese works too, could you do the same or something similar then to make it work?

Replier's profile picture

Meelis OjasildDeveloperOct 27, 2023

Thanks for the review, Clarence. Sadly it's not possible to get Japanese vocabulary from Duolingo at the moment. It's the only exception where it's not possible to get anything. Not much I can do from my side. There are a few languages for which you can only get the foreign language words (they will be copied to clipboard when syncing) but for which the extension's translate function doesn't work (Klingon, High Valyrian, Latin, Navajo, Yiddish, Gaelic, Esperanto, Guarani). This might change in the future as this is a limitation of the translation engine. So, at the moment, you will have to translate those words on your own - Google Translate, for example, has at least some of those languages.

Google apps