Reviews: DOI Resolver
Item logo image for DOI Resolver

DOI Resolver

Featured
4.7(

25 ratings

)
ExtensionTools5,000 users

4.7 out of 5

25 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Nick PorterOct 8, 2021

Very well done. I've been using it for about 10 minutes now and haven't encountered a bug, which is more than I can say for most of my own code. It's such a simple thing but it streamlines the research process so much.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Mauricio Maluff MasiJul 21, 2020

This extension probably saves me about a day each year in time looking for articles in my university's library website.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Viktor NilssonFeb 27, 2017

I see that you've recently added automatic stripping of DOI: but it does not seem to be case-insensitive for me... (works when changed to lowercase, not when changed back to uppercase) I would prefer if it could work using the address bar instead, but I see why it's not possible. Right now, it's likely as fast to google the string and hit first result.

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Replier's profile picture

DeveloperMar 3, 2017

I'm not able to reproduce your issue (which would have been more appropriate in the Support section or GitHub Issues than leaving an unfavorable review). When I highlight any of the three links at https://cmphys.com/doitest.html with various case-mixing of "doi:" and select "Resolve DOI", they resolve fine. When autolink is enabled, just the DOI is linked as well. Do you have a sample that I could view?

Review's profile picture

Alexander ZintlerFeb 15, 2017

Thanks so much, this extension is so useful while searching for literature.

Review's profile picture

Jitte GroothuisJan 13, 2017

Works like a charm, except that I feel that the extension should know to ignore e.g. "DOI: " in front of a DOI. Such text is often selected automatically when using double-click to select the DOI (easier than dragging the cursor, where it's easy to miss the first or last character). [Edit: upgraded to 5 stars after implementation of suggestion!]

Review's profile picture

Gareth ThomasAug 4, 2015

Excellent extension. Being able to simply click on a DOI to be taken to the document makes life that much simpler, let alone the other functionality. It even works on DOIs within PDF documents.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Alex WatersSep 18, 2013

Does almost everything I had custom implemented in Firefox - and then some! Custom doi url is perfect for my uni proxy + omnibox doi = straight to full (logged-in) texts! (one less thing holding me to Firefox use) The citation generation is helpful on occasion (but doesn't always work depending on the style selected) - though I usually use EndNote for that anyway. The ("and then some") right-click (context menu) to Google search or "resolve" is also nice, but the auto linkifying is what mak... Show more

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

François LapointeSep 6, 2012

Very useful! Would it be possible to turn a DOI in text into a clickable link?

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Andrew PerryMay 12, 2012

Works fine if you want an actual DOI search button that can give you metadata (XML/JSON). If you just want to resolve DOIs to find a paper, you can configure the address bar ("omnibox") to do this without an extension by right clicking on it, selecting "Edit Search Engines" and adding the keyword "doi" and the search engine "http://dx.doi.org/%s".

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Google apps