Reviews: Custom New Tab
Item logo image for Custom New Tab

Custom New Tab

dictanote.co
Featured
4.4(

15 ratings

)

4.4 out of 5

15 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Сергей ДрузьJun 18, 2024

I prefer to use "New Tab Redirect"

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Review's profile picture

bridgit kimaniJun 6, 2024

I was frustrated with the lack of customization options for the new tab page in Chrome. This extension has been a game-changer. It lets me set any URL I want for the new tab page, and the focus remains on the address bar. I've set it to Google.com, Voice In Notepad, and even a blank page. It's lightweight and easy to use. Highly recommend!

Review's profile picture

Nitesh TyagiJun 6, 2024

Great extension! It works perfectly and does exactly what it's supposed to do. Simple and fantastic!

Review's profile picture

GoGoJoeJun 5, 2024

I had the same problem as Atul Patil, dealing with "Allow access to file URLs" permission for this extension:". In my frustration I had left a negative one star review, which I have now deleted. Eventually I stumbled on how to contact the developer, and explained the issue I was having. The Developer quickly responded to me, and fixed the problem. The New Tab now appears to be working just fine for me with my local file URL.

Review's profile picture

Atul PatilApr 20, 2024

Everything is working fine for external URL's, but when I am trying to serve a local HTML file it says with a warning "If your URL is a local file then you will have to enable the "Allow access to file URLs" permission for this extension:" When I click on the grant Permission button, it takes me to the extension settings, but I dont see any option to grant permissions for the extension. Could you please help me in find that?

4 out of 4 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Anil ShanbhagDeveloperJun 5, 2024

This is fixed in the latest release. There was a change in Chrome that hid that setting by default :/ Follow the instructions at https://help.dictanote.co/help/features/how-to-use-voice-in-on-the-new-tab-page#set-the-new-tab-url-to-a-local-file-url

Review's profile picture

Saikat SarkarDec 9, 2023

THANK YOU. THANK YOU.THANK YOU.THANK YOU. It does work in BRAVE Browser. It does what it's suppose to do. SIMPLE. Normally I don't do 5 Stars. But....meh..

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Drift JunkieOct 21, 2023

Add option to enable local file permissions an you've got my 5/5 <3

3 out of 4 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Anil ShanbhagDeveloperApr 12, 2024

Just added this in the latest release :)

Review's profile picture

SteveOct 8, 2023

Thanks, works fantastic!

4 out of 4 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

ChrisMay 27, 2023

This creator is someone you should support. Period. Short story long: I am making a small search tool that uses this extension to open a new tab and remove ~3 extra clicks and it sort of hinges on being able to auto focus on the page, rather than the address bar (which is what this extension does by default). Upon emailing the creator, he told me what I needed to do to remove this functionality but unfortunately when I tried, it would "corrupt" the extension. I already felt like I was wastin... Show more

6 out of 6 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Ed BockelmanApr 29, 2023

Exactly what I was looking for. There's another, more popular extension to do the same thing, but this one works as well or better so I wanted to give it some love.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Google apps