Reviews: Copy as Plain Text
Item logo image for Copy as Plain Text

Copy as Plain Text

www.seabreezecomputers.com
3.6(

24 ratings

)

3.6 out of 5

24 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

J. S. (darkocean)Jun 27, 2023

Thank you kindly for giving back the ability to copy as plain text, why would chrome take out something so basic? I really hate the stupidity of 'modern' (hack-job) browsers it drives me to distraction!

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

CatCitizen CitizenApr 20, 2023

The second append option works, while it should be given some visual and audio cue it worked. was not sure, until i pasted. thanks

Replier's profile picture

Jeff BakerDeveloperMay 1, 2023

Thank you for the review and the feedback!

Review's profile picture

Subfire HuDec 3, 2022

use shortcut is not free.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

John DOct 6, 2022

i just want to copy paste from a online pdf and i cant help https://www.companionbiblecondensed.com/OT/Isaiah.pdf

Replier's profile picture

Jeff BakerDeveloperOct 7, 2022

Hi John, That website pdf works fine with the extension in Chrome but you have to use the right-click context menu with pdf files. Highlight the text and then RIGHT-click on the text and click on Copy as Plain Text > Copy as Plain Text. It is a layered menu so make sure you click on the second "Copy as Plain Text. If that doesn't work then it seems like your Chrome may have been changed to not use the default Chrome pdf viewer. You might need to go to chrome://extensions/ in the browser and disable all other extensions and then restart the computer and try again.

Review's profile picture

Brijesh PatelSep 24, 2022

not working as simple pdf

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Jeff BakerDeveloperSep 24, 2022

Hello, Are you able to provide a link to the pdf file? Unfortunately, because of multiple security policies and different ways of doing pdf files on the Internet pdf files are difficult and sometimes impossible to program for copying plain text. If the pdf file opens in Chrome's default pdf viewer then the extension is not allowed to read the data directly. But Chrome does allow the highlighted text to be sent to the extension using the right-click context menu: Copy as Plain Text > Copy as Plain Text. (It is a layered menu so make sure you click on the second option) Unfortunately, the method allowed by Chrome will not copy carriage returns. In other cases, the PDF viewer used or the PDF file may have a security policy that doesn't even allow the right-click context menu to read any data. If that is the case, and the pdf allows copying of rich text, then an option is the in-app purchase for the button in the pop-up called "Convert Clipboard to Plain Text".

Review's profile picture

Pat MySecretNov 6, 2021

Apparently the free option only offers to copy as plain text, and not to append.

Review's profile picture

Rachel PhillipsNov 15, 2020

does not work , it don't work on facebook

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Jeff BakerDeveloperNov 17, 2020

It is working on Facebook for me. Have you tried restarting your computer. How are you using it? Are you highlighting the text on Facebook and then right clicking on the text and then left clicking on "Copy as Plain Text..."?

Review's profile picture

LukeFeb 25, 2020

Copy as Plain Text has worked great for me for years. I'm finally uninstalling it because I no longer need it. Thank you for your service.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Razz TanwariNov 3, 2019

The extensions that worked in copying text from a webpage when other extensions failed.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

GreenSteveJan 31, 2019

Thank you! After months spent trying four other extensions, finally one that actually works with Excel. Using the Alt+C function to copy to clipboard then Ctrl+V or Shift+Insert to directly into Excel, without needing the mouse, or any other steps, or a three-key function. Well worth the $4 to activate all the extra options.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Google apps