Reviews: #Clicky for Slack

3.3 out of 5

42 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Steve LeeFeb 13, 2018

Does this even work? Can't tell.

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Josh FarrantDeveloperFeb 15, 2018

Hi Steve, What issues are you having with the extension? If you're having trouble with anything I'd be happy to help out however I can. Josh

Review's profile picture

Donald MunnOct 19, 2017

Sorry, not interesting in mining cryptocurrency for you. Uninstalled.

1 out of 3 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Josh FarrantDeveloperAug 2, 2018

Hi Donald, Mining was removed shortly after you posted this review, so if you'd like to give #Clicky another try I'd be grateful to hear what you think. Josh

Review's profile picture

A Chrome Web Store userOct 13, 2017

It takes over 5% of CPU on i7 all the time even on empty TAB!!! Seems to be really BITCOIN work. I cannot recommmed this extension. This is not true that the older version has a bug. I'm using the newest one and still the issues with CPU usage! I've been using that extension for over one year. I feel cheated!!!

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Replier's profile picture

Josh FarrantDeveloperOct 15, 2017

Hi there, As per the announcement in the latest version, #Clicky is now split into 2 tiers, a free tier (supported by Monero mining, which uses up to a maximum of 5% of your CPU), or a paid tier. The paid tier consists of a one-off purchase which disables mining forever. I explain the reasoning for this change in the latest version of #Clicky, but in summary; I had originally hoped that people who found #Clicky genuinely useful may consider donating to help fund the work that has gone into #Clicky over the last three years, however unfortunately that just wasn't the case. This is why I've chosen to introduce the free and paid tier approach to #Clicky. It means that those who don't want to pay for the extension can still support it by giving it a very small amount of CPU instead. Those who would rather not have #Clicky use any more CPU than it needs can instead upgrade to the paid tier, which will disable mining completely. Again, this was all explained in full in the announcement that you will have seen when #Clicky updated to v3.1.0 a few days ago. Josh

Review's profile picture

Ivo de VriesOct 12, 2017

This copy/paste thingy crashed my PC. Uses 100% CPU to mine coins for the creator. Unacceptable.

1 out of 3 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Josh FarrantDeveloperAug 2, 2018

Hi Ivo, Apologies for not responding sooner. Mining was removed shortly after you posted this review, so #Clicky should now have no noticeable impact on your CPU. Josh

Review's profile picture

Henry Claude Nana Monnier (Henry)Oct 10, 2017

Uses 5% of my Intel I7 Quad core CPU for no shown reason

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Josh FarrantDeveloperOct 15, 2017

Dekor3d Cybertex, At no point did I, nor do I want to, insinuate that. My reply here was targeted to Guillaume (that may not be clear because of the inverted way the Chrome Store formats it's review replies), who was referring to a version which contained a bug that didn't limit CPU usage to 5% as it should have, and instead allowed it to increase up to 100%. The version which contained this bug was only present on the Chrome Store for about 2 hours, and was fixed as soon as I was made aware of it. Again, there is nothing underhanded taking place here. The two different options for how you can choose to support #Clicky are outlined clearly in multiple places within the extension; once in the large, prominent announcement that you will have seen a few days ago, and again on the About page. If you're in any doubt at all about transparency, please do go back through the commits on GitHub and confirm this for yourself. Here is a link to the commit where I added Monero mining. Note the message explaining exactly what was taking place: https://github.com/joshfarrant/slack-clicky/commit/12d0d2146effc46a69e666025590a4b40bb49930#diff-c5129e7ae9d0e5646894e54bbfcb1d14R103 Josh

Review's profile picture

Pierre LaurierOct 9, 2017

Removed the extension after its developer has decided to 'test' coinhive that uses a lot of CPU without our consent.

2 out of 4 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Gareth WattsOct 6, 2017

Just wow.. wondered why Chrome was using high CPU only to find this extension is now literally stealing my CPU/power to mine crypto coins via CoinHive. Inexcusable abuse. If you want to monetize your work, ask for permission. This is just theft.

4 out of 5 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Josh FarrantDeveloperOct 7, 2017

Hi Gareth, I'm sorry you feel that way but I really do appreciate your feedback. I've written extensively about the process within #Clicky itself (Check the About page) as I want to be completely transparent about this, and I want to share my thought process behind the decision. As I mentioned within #Clicky, this is just an experiment and is by no means guaranteed to remain a part of #Clicky for the foreseeable future. This is all new to me, so I'm trying to find the right balance for things here. Based on your feedback I'll further reduce the impact #Clicky is having in the next version, which I'll aim to get out later today. I do disagree with your comparison to theft, however. I've never before seen a website ask my permission before it shows me ads, or before it tracks my every move and sells the data to the highest bidder. Needless to say #Clicky does neither of those things, despite it being technically possible from a Chrome Extension. Over the years I've put hundreds of hours into #Clicky, and I'd like to continue working on it in the future. I don't want to make #Clicky a paid extension, so this solution seems like it would be beneficial for both parties. I just need to find the right balance to make sure you as the user don't see any noticeable impact in your day-to-day computer usage. I welcome any more feedback you have. Feel free to either reply here (although Google don't send notifications for these comments, so apologies in advance if it takes me a bit longer to reply). Alternatively, feel free to pop an email over to josh@farrant.me, or tweet me @FarPixel. Thanks again for your feedback. All the best, Josh

Review's profile picture

MatthiasJul 22, 2017

works perfect! just missing a search field to find users/channels.. keep up the good work!

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

A Chrome Web Store userJun 28, 2017

Doesn't work.

0 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Josh FarrantDeveloperJul 3, 2017

Hi Laurenz, Would you mind letting me know what problems you're having? I'd be happy to look into them for you. There have been quite a few bugfixes shipped in the last few days, so I'd definitely suggest updating to the latest version to see if that solves the issue's you're having. All the best, Josh

Review's profile picture

Сергей МакаровJun 13, 2017

Why the app wants to read all events across entire team?

1 out of 3 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Josh FarrantDeveloperJul 3, 2017

Hi there, Thank you for trying #Clicky, and I'm sorry you weren't happy with the permissions #Clicky is requesting. #Clicky only requests the permissions it needs - nothing more. The permission you're referring to is required to receive messages and notify you of them, as well as to send messages in the current implementation. I've gone into detail on the issue here: https://github.com/joshfarrant/slack-clicky/issues/5 The long and the short of it though is that Slack don't provide me a way to request fewer permissions with the current desired functionality. As soon as they do I'll update #Clicky to use only the permissions it needs. I've pestered Slack several times about this, but got nowhere. If you'd like to see this changed then I'd recommend getting in touch with Slack to request the same thing. More people asking will help them prioritise this issue. Cheers, Josh

Google apps