Reviews: Chromebook Recovery Utility

2.4 out of 5

1.1K ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

SpencerJun 17, 2024

Chrome works on Linux. The USB Media is recognized and useable on Linux. This extension installs on Chrome on Linux. Why isn't this plugin software adapted to work on Linux? I've been able to adapt windows and Mac apps on Linux, and this is just an app linked to an extension, so it should be able to be downloaded and functional ON LINUX!

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Alison ReadmanJun 17, 2024

The extension got stuck at stage 3 of 3.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Asaf MerschonJun 16, 2024

One star for the tool not working on Linux, I mean common! Is some rocket science I'm not aware of involved?! All the tool needs to do is format a USB drive and write some files to it. Why isn't it supported on Linux!? All I get is this message: *Linux is currently unsupported* Unfortunately, your platform is not supported at this time. Please refer to the Chromebook Help Centre for more information.

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

ZJun 16, 2024

Stuck at 85% a long time and does not continue transfer when network fail.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Mike LeeJun 14, 2024

As of Jun 2024, the extension is broken. When it worked, I was able to create a ChromeOS flex USB stick to run Chrome off of. It initially worked great but the mouse never worked and I tried on a mac and pc but over time it got buggier and buggier. Now the stick will only run ChromeOS for about 10 min before crashing. I know you are meant to use it to install but if I want to test a device this is an easy to test. Also I bought a 256GB stick. I partitioned it hoping to use 32GB for Flex and... Show more

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

TheGamingKarlo 17Jun 14, 2024

all my files are gone off of my 119 gigabyte flash drive DAMNIT

2 out of 7 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Karen KietzkeJun 11, 2024

Running this on an actual chromebook which is only a year or two old, it gives me the model number for this chromebook, which doesn't work. (It says it can't find it.) It also says the model will be listed on the recovery screen - that one didn't work either. I finally found the proper image on <https://chromiumdash.appspot.com/serving-builds?deviceCategory=Chrome%20OS>. I'm giving it 2 stars instead of 1 since it did write the image correctly, but the approved method of creating recovery med... Show more

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Nephi JenksJun 10, 2024

IT WORKED:)!!!!!!!!!

2 out of 5 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Dave RourkeJun 9, 2024

I had an old and almost useless HP Stream - no space to install or do anything. Very un-responsive... But I downloaded Chrome Flex OS, installed and hello, I now have a shiny new Chromebook! Thanks Google!

2 out of 5 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Shaun HoldawayJun 7, 2024

What a joke. :(

2 out of 9 found this helpful
Google apps