Reviews: Chromebook Recovery Utility
Item logo image for Chromebook Recovery Utility

Chromebook Recovery Utility

Google
2.9(

2.1K ratings

)
700,000 users

2.9 out of 5

2.1K ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Gage GMay 23, 2024

works for more than recovering chromebooks. i've used it to flash raspian many times. the only* app that can flash drives. *that i know of

Review's profile picture

Jorge RiveraAug 10, 2023

at the beginning I had a problem launching the extension. It was showing a message ''not supported''. I just uninstall and reinstall. Then I went directly to my extensions I clicked and it finally lunched the app. I rate 5 stars because my Chromebox recovered very fast. Very simple and easy to use. Thanks.

1 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Michael CJul 16, 2023

As of July 14, 2023 this extension was working correctly if the user uses it correctly! I needed to burn a custom firmware onto an sd card using my chromebook. in order for this extension to recognize the firmware i had to rename it .bin as instructed by Arun Kumar in his tutorial "How to burn an ISO to a USB drive on Chromebook". It really was that simple.

1 out of 3 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Sherri Klemow ShevlinJun 6, 2023

I have read all the reviews and recommendations, open Google as administrator, typed in the exact model, ran it on stable and still when I got to end and do it wouldn't finish writing onto the disk. Love my chromebook but this extension to help fix an issue took 2 hours of my life and a 9 pm trip to buy a disk I didn't use.

2 out of 6 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Tanvir bhuiyanApr 14, 2023

my chromebook is samsung chromebook xe303c12 and it dosent work on my chromebook please fix it

3 out of 5 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Marie-PApr 7, 2023

It partitioned my flash drive and made all but 1 partition unreadable. Chromebook to recover wasn't able read anything on the flash drive. wasted my time and a flash drive.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

J HMar 6, 2023

Absolute Garbage. Downloads recovery tools but hangs at 0% when it comes time to download it to a usb device. have tried multiple devices. I should have expected this though, since Alphabet is a big proponent of the "You'll own nothing and be happy" Cabal. "Computer software outmoded? just buy a shiney new model that's still receiving updates!" "Want support? - lease this phone instead and you'll always have tech support!" "Why be YOU when you could be NEW!"

5 out of 7 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Sherif AlitiJan 7, 2023

When on the earth Google developers make something to work!!!

3 out of 4 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

S SNov 3, 2022

Garbage app when it does not work on Linux.

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Dibash SapkotaOct 28, 2022

It is not supported in linux.

1 out of 3 found this helpful
Google apps