Reviews: Chinese Console Popup Dictionary

4.9 out of 5

12 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Vitaly_1337_Mar 3, 2024

This is exactly what I've been looking for the entire evening! It was so difficult to find. Superuseful, lost of GREAT features. More people must know about it! I'll be recommending it to Chinese learners that I know

Review's profile picture

Mihail GorSep 26, 2022

It is a great plugin to learn Chineese and practice translation. Very lightweight and easy to use. Superusefull. Recommended 100%.

Review's profile picture

Язык, словесность и культура КитаяSep 19, 2022

Very nice and promising extension, it is evident there has been put a lot of though in the creation of it. I wish you would continue to make fellow Mandarin learners happy by updating and improving on your work. As a student with no money to go around, I can't do anything but encourage you with this review.

Review's profile picture

Cao AnhJun 20, 2021

Great extension. But could you please update the Text to Speech feature! To read the selected text out loud. Thanks!

Replier's profile picture

Benjamin Moses LiebDeveloperSep 20, 2022

Hi Cao. I'd love to implement this feature. I may have to do it as a "paid service" though, since I can't think of any text-to-speech services online that are completely free for the extension to use.

Review's profile picture

Marios LeviMay 2, 2021

Great extension, however it does cause a bug on certain page where the Footer of the page gets stuck in the middle of the page and doesn't get affected by scrolling... To counteract it, I just set it to only run when I click the icon, rather than all sites.

Replier's profile picture

Benjamin Moses LiebDeveloperSep 20, 2022

Hi Marios, this bug should be fixed at this point. Because the extension "lives" on the same page that you're viewing it susceptible to the CSS styles on the page. This is one of the hardest parts of maintain a consistent "look and feel" - protecting it from the styles on the page it's in. I have to do my best to use ids and classes that don't aren't also used by the page. Thanks for your feedback and generous spirit in reporting the bug. Doing my best!

Review's profile picture

Will TaylorSep 1, 2020

Incredibly useful way to pick up Chinese characters from news sites like China Daily. Very intuitive, love it.

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Review's profile picture

Eileen HindsAug 23, 2020

So glad I found this extension, it's the best thing I've seen for helping us Chinese language learners. Definitely a keeper.

1 person found this review to be unhelpful
Review's profile picture

Cody BrockAug 12, 2020

Super useful extension. It gives all the information I want about the characters but isn't intrusive on the screen. I'm learning faster now, definitely recommended.

1 out of 2 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Rachel HindsJul 16, 2020

I love this extension for learning Chinese! It's super helpful for learning the characters, and it has a couple of features I haven't seen anywhere else. The character frequency feature lets me know which characters I should be focusing on learning first, and the app lets me choose where I want the visual interface to be on my screen...which is super helpful for navigating different types of sites. A+, loving it.

2 out of 3 found this helpful
Google apps