Reviews: Buttercup
Item logo image for Buttercup

Buttercup

buttercup.pw
Featured
3.6(

36 ratings

)

3.6 out of 5

36 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

Joyful StarJul 16, 2024

i will continue just using the desktop and mobile versions but the extension is not working says that there are no entrys even tho there are and in the settings icon all its says is " Background task failed: No configuration available "

Review's profile picture

Johannes KabischMay 7, 2024

Thank you for developing a new version! It took little time to get it running, but that has to do with me needing some time to get used to new solutions. Once I understood how to pair the desktop app with the browser extension all works as expected.

Review's profile picture

Aurelien FalcoApr 24, 2024

The app can't seem to connect to the desktop app "Failed starting connection: Background task failed: Failed to fetch"

Review's profile picture

Ramon Henrique Pereira RibeiroMar 28, 2024

This new version 3.x is really annoying. The setup with the desktop application has not a good user experience and the popup menu to open and type the password to unlock the vault is not use friendly at all. I think a good enhancement to let the password be typed on addon and sent it throughout the connection to the desktop app. The experience in having to change windows is not that good

4 out of 4 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Wakefield Morys-CarterMar 28, 2024

The browser extension stopped working for me after the recent upgrade. The reason, I discovered, was because my app version was too old. Version 2.6+ is required. Installing it and enabling browser access got me up and running again.

Review's profile picture

Gabrielle CarvalhoMar 27, 2024

Doesn't work anymore after update EDIT: I have the desktop app running in the background v2.27.0. After a bit of digging, I found out I had to open desk app and go to "Connections" > "Enable". Even after that, when I entender the vault code... "Failed authenticating: Background task failed: Desktop request failed: 403 Forbidden". Have to do even more digging now :( Sorry, Perry, I know this was something you didn't want to do. Desktop and iOs apps still work perfectly though EDIT MAY 20 2024 ... Show more

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Perry MitchellDeveloperMar 27, 2024

This was discussed publicly for months leading up to this release, both on our social media and our Github account: https://github.com/buttercup/buttercup-browser-extension/discussions/451

Review's profile picture

Zely UncMar 27, 2024

It suddenly upgraded to V3. I previously didn't use desktop app and kept the file in online drive. After installing desktop app and connected to g drive, the app failed to import the old vault file. Took me long enough to finally get it imported. Even after that, the button that usually appears for 1-click login on the web page is gone from it's usual place. I think it got moved to the extension icon. Seriously UX is bad and having to install a desktop app is not really 'light-weight' imo. 10... Show more

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Perry MitchellDeveloperMar 27, 2024

This was discussed publicly for months leading up to this release, both on our social media and our Github account: https://github.com/buttercup/buttercup-browser-extension/discussions/451 The move was most certainly justified and you'll find UX has drastically improved considering not having to maintain 2 vault connection instances. It'll take time to get used to but this is also the direction the browser vendors are taking, like google & manifest v3 - lightweight addons without full backends (this prevents us from supporting V3 with a full password manager in memory in the browser).

Review's profile picture

Степ ГромовMar 27, 2024

Congratulations you just ruined application with new upgrade. I had to re-import existing vault from gdisk and move all entries manually because new release can't recognize old vault

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

Perry MitchellDeveloperMar 27, 2024

This was discussed publicly for months leading up to this release, both on our social media and our Github account: https://github.com/buttercup/buttercup-browser-extension/discussions/451

Review's profile picture

MohamedAug 31, 2022

Very well done. Zero problems.

Review's profile picture

Dominik MorseOct 20, 2021

Great password manager

1 person found this review to be helpful
Google apps