Reviews: Bias Finder
Item logo image for Bias Finder

Bias Finder

Featured
4.4(

18 ratings

)

4.4 out of 5

18 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

JJun 25, 2020

I like this, its helping me form my own opinion. However I do not think it covers the board completely. There are satirical news sites, I think there should be an "S" category. I think this would aid those who read the headlines a bit more informed. Especially if they don't know its a satirical site.

5 out of 5 found this helpful
Review's profile picture

Jason WesterOct 10, 2019

Does exactly what it needs to do. Keep in mind that the data and ratings are not determined by this extension. The rating are simply displayed here.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Review's profile picture

Artex JayAug 15, 2019

Seems to be the only decent bias checker extension on the entire chrome store. Congrats.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

UnlockedDeveloperAug 16, 2019

Thank you for the review. I don't handle the bias ratings myself and instead fetch data from AllSides, so I use the same L-LL-C-LR-R scale that they use. If there are sites that you want them to rate, there are instructions on https://www.allsides.com/media-bias/media-bias-ratings for recommending a source. If you find a site that they have rated but it doesn't show up with Bias Finder though, that's on me and I'll do my best to resolve any reported inconsistencies.

Review's profile picture

Takotra The Rat KingAug 31, 2018

Not terribly accurate. For instance: CNN is apparently in the center. (Waaa) Buzzfeed is only *slightly* left, apparently. Not to mention, most of the time, it doesn't even detect you're on a site.

1 out of 4 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

UnlockedDeveloperSep 13, 2018

CNN has since been revised by AllSides to a rating of "lean left." I haven't updated the thumbnails in a while, hence that not properly representing the current state of things. I'll update those soon to reduce confusion. Buzzfeed has a justification that can be seen at https://www.allsides.com/news-source/buzzfeed-media-news. I'm sorry about your technical issues with the extension. If you could tell me the exact issues you encountered, that would help me fix the issue.

Review's profile picture

A Chrome Web Store userSep 8, 2017

This extension is pretty much required these days, in the same way that HTTPS Everywhere is required. Developer is extremely responsive and transparent

3 out of 4 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

UnlockedDeveloperSep 14, 2017

Thank you, and also thank you for reaching out to me with your technical issues.

Review's profile picture

Trevor RubatzkyJun 27, 2017

CNN in the Center??? You gotta be kidding me.

2 out of 5 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

UnlockedDeveloperSep 13, 2018

AllSides has since revised CNN's rating to "Lean Left," for which a full justification can be seen here: https://www.allsides.com/news-source/cnn. While CNN Editorial articles are rated as "Left," I currently have no generalized way to distinguish between if an article is an opinion article or not. In general, assume that the bias of opinion articles will differ from the overall bias of the site.

Review's profile picture

Cliff JepsenJun 10, 2017

Good tool in the tool box.

1 person found this review to be helpful
Replier's profile picture

UnlockedDeveloperJun 10, 2017

I'm glad you find it useful.

Google apps