Reviews: axe DevTools - Web Accessibility Testing
Item logo image for axe DevTools - Web Accessibility Testing

axe DevTools - Web Accessibility Testing

www.deque.com
4.0(

108 ratings

)

4.0 out of 5

108 ratings

Google doesn't verify reviews. Learn more about results and reviews.

  • All reviews
  • Recent
  • Helpful
  • Highest to lowest rating
  • Lowest to highest rating
  • English
  • All languages
Review's profile picture

A Chrome Web Store userApr 30, 2024

This is a wonderful free disability compliance check on your web page. Thank you!

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Harris SchneidermanDeveloperApr 30, 2024

I am happy to hear that you enjoy it! Thanks!

Review's profile picture

Saptarishi RoyApr 29, 2024

This ha been an excellent feature. Please confirm if the extension to cover WCAG 2.2 has been made open to all?

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Harris SchneidermanDeveloperApr 29, 2024

Glad to hear it has been excellent! We have some upcoming work planned for the very near future that will open up WCAG 2.2 to all! Currently, it is available to all users who start a trial or upgrade to "Pro".

Review's profile picture

Divya NaikFeb 7, 2024

Thanks. Could you please confirm if this is latest version of Axe ? I believe this covers up to WCAG 2.1 AA standard issues.

2 out of 2 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Harris SchneidermanDeveloperFeb 14, 2024

Yes, the extension currently supports the latest version of axe which covers WCAG 2.1 AA standard issues! Let us know if you have any more questions by reaching out to helpdesk@deque.com Happy accessibility testing!

Review's profile picture

Valeria BocanegraFeb 6, 2024

Hello, I have to say this is a very useful tool. It quickly runs in the browser, scan my pages and triggers very helpful results about the issues found it and point the exactly parts of my code with the issue. Is there any plan to update soon the webtool to covers WCAG 2.2 AAA?

Replier's profile picture

Harris SchneidermanDeveloperFeb 14, 2024

Thank you for the feedback! I'm happy to hear that the axe DevTools Extension helps you find accessibility issues in your code. On our roadmap is a feature to allow all logged in users (free or paid) to update their Accessibility Testing Standard settings to "WCAG 2.2 AAA". Right now this feature is only available to "Pro" (paid) users, however we acknowledge that this was a mistake and want to open it up so all users can access this standard. I expect the feature to be released within the next couple of months.

Review's profile picture

Bishal PaulJan 31, 2024

Doesn't work if you are not pay lol

1 out of 11 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Harris SchneidermanDeveloperJan 31, 2024

Bishal, without paying you have access to run unlimited scans on as many pages as you'd like. For each scan, a detailed report with the results is available containing useful information about each issue including source code, selector, remediation info along with a link to an information page about the given rule. We of course offer additional features for paid ("Pro") users as accessibility testing software solutions often do. It is inaccurate to state that the extension "doesn't work" if you do not pay.

Review's profile picture

Tristan LinsJan 12, 2024

Good tool, but only if you pay for it. Elementary basic functions were once free, but now have to be paid for. It's worth it if you use it regularly, but it's no longer useful for occasional users.

4 out of 5 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Harris SchneidermanDeveloperJan 12, 2024

Tristan, we have acknowledged a couple of problems based on similar feedback from users. There is a plan to open up things like "accessibility standard" (WCAG level) settings up to non-paid users in the near future. We apologize for the frustrations this has caused. If you have any more specific feedback you'd like to share, it would be greatly appreciated.

Review's profile picture

john kellyDec 17, 2023

This extension uses amplitude for tracking, which gradually fills your cookie with junk 'amp_cookie_text<randomstring>' causing sites to fail to load. Privacy nightmare and shady practices

0 out of 5 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Harris SchneidermanDeveloperDec 19, 2023

We do in fact use amplitude for tracking user behavior. Collecting analytics data is a very common practice in modern software. The data we do capture does not include any PII; it is simply instrumented to collect data on which features of the extension are used most and helps us identify UX bottlenecks. I apologize that this "junk" is causing sites to fail to load. This issue hasn't been reported by any other users, so if you don't mind emailing helpdesk@deque.com with details, that would be appreciated. I do want to reiterate that we are not doing anything shady with the data and this information is included in our terms and conditions that all users agree to. If you want to learn more about what is tracked, refer to this documentation: https://docs.deque.com/devtools-server/4.0.0/en/data-collection#axe-devtools-browser-extension-free

Review's profile picture

Heki GDec 11, 2023

Axe Devtools Pro is truly fantastic. It's user-friendly and easy to comprehend. When compared to other accessibility products, it stands out as the best.

3 out of 3 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Harris SchneidermanDeveloperDec 18, 2023

Thank you for the wonderful feedback, Heki! I hope that axe DevTools Pro continues to deliver value to you and your team. Should you ever run into issues in the future or simply have general feedback, please do not hesitate to reach out to helpdesk@deque.com. Happy accessibility testing!

Review's profile picture

malyadri gDec 8, 2023

is there any feature regarding speech reading in axe developer tool plugin? Sorrt to give 3 star , I have used the product from a month , found it user friendly and one of the best app in finding accessibility issues. My rating has been changed now.

Replier's profile picture

Harris SchneidermanDeveloperDec 11, 2023

No worries, Malyadri! I'm happy to hear that the axe extension is helping you find accessibility issues and that you have found it to be user-friendly!

Review's profile picture

EdwardNov 28, 2023

Tried to run a test, but it's purely focused on getting you to upgrade. Useless by itself, don't waste your time.

2 out of 5 found this helpful
Replier's profile picture

Harris SchneidermanDeveloperDec 6, 2023

I'm sorry to hear you found axe DevTools useless. Our focus is not purely on getting users to upgrade, in fact, running an automated scan on your page is available without having to upgrade and always has been. We feel we offer quite valuable features without users having to upgrade. However, you are not the only one who has voiced this outrage of having calls to upgrade in our UI and we're always working on improving the product. You also mentioned that you tried to run a test - were you unable to? If so, I'm happy to take a look and see if we can fix any bugs you may have encountered.

Google apps